Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Exhaust and LS1 edit questions

dunny

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I know this has been discussed before but everyone has slightly different mods, brands etc.

I have a VX II SS Commodore auto, with about 60,000km on the clock. Now that the factory warranty has run out I thought I would make some changes.

I work as an auto elec, and fitted an exhaust myself but don't know much about LS1 performance so any help is appreciated.

I fitted a 2 1/2 inch dual stainless steel exhaust system from the cats back. The front mufflers are Mille Miglia which run to 2 seperate rear hi-tech mufflers. I drove it like this for a couple of weeks and noticed a big improvement in middle to top end power, with a good exhaust note. Just this week I fitted a set of Pacemaker Tri-Y headers and also 2 new high flow cats.

I expected a big improvement again but found that I gained only a small amount of mid and top end performance (from driving feel only, no dyno or 1/4 mile runs), nowhere near as much as the cats back install. It definitely gave it a lot better sound though. I did notice that if I flatten it at around 110km/h it pulls like a train but still lacks the low down power I would like.

I am slowly saving to do some more mods and was wondering what to do next? I was hoping for a bit more go down low, as I do a lot of stop/start driving.

I have been reading other posts and most of you guys suggest a mafless tune. What exactly is a Mafless tune? Do they remove the mass air flow meter?? Can you guys recommend some good workshops around the Sydney city areas to perform this.