Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

1985 VK SL RB30/25 - Under Construction

Dylbree

Reaction score
Members Ride
85' VK SL
I bought this 85' VK SL in early 2012 with a running black 202 carby with full redback exhaust and a slipping gearbox for 500$. Bought for a project/daily, the interior was half decent and paint was pretty shabby, plans changed and one thing led to another...

It sat in my yard until halfway through 2013 when i agreed on my plans and started this thing :D
So the goal for the project was so slip an rb30 in while keeing the inside and outside looking stock i grabbed an rb30 complete engine, intake and loom with ac compressor off a mate for 250$ it was out of a vl wagon but he sold the turbo gear. So first was to get the paint sorted. My mate is a panel beater by trade so everyday after work, we stripped and started the body work in his garage and then took it into his shop to paint her in the booth. The boot lid had to be replaced as it had way to much pitting.. At the same time i was gathering parts :D Also drove it to my mates place with no glass, door handles and lights to get my aerial shaved and one hole that was under the right rear quarter welded up and repaired... fun times :D Then did skids before replacing the trimatic for road worthy/drive ability :p

Then into primer :D I was overwhelmed by the results, Soo damn straight and was happy to help and learn :D Celebratory beers were had too, oh and a fire in the street :

She sat for a week or two until i could get my custom paint mixed and sorted, then we rubbed her down and sent her to the booth, happy days :)