Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2000 VX SS ABS light

Discussion in 'Electrical Wiring / Questions' started by grunt_408, Aug 29, 2014.

Tags:
  1. grunt_408

    grunt_408 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Location:
    Wodonga
    Members Ride:
    Vt II SS 5.7
    Ok so I have pretty much purchased my first v8 and I am pretty excited. Anyway I took this car to be looked over by a mechanic and he found it a little odd that the abs light was on when the car doesn't support abs?? Not knowing a great deal about them I ask why would it be on if it dosnt have it? It has had an engine swap recently... Sorry for opening a thread if the answer is already here in old threads but I could not find it.
     
  2. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Kamikraze

    Messages:
    4,730
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
    A 2000 VX SS doesn't have ABS???
    Either the Mechanic is a dick, it's been removed, or it's faulty.

    Has it got one of these (circled), on the driver's side, under the bonnet?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. grunt_408

    grunt_408 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Location:
    Wodonga
    Members Ride:
    Vt II SS 5.7
    Well thats what I couldnt work out yes it does have a module like that.... He hooked some thing up to it and it said that abs was not supported? and i thought wtf i thought it was standard? I have done some googling and the module also does something with the traction control yeah?
     
  4. grunt_408

    grunt_408 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Location:
    Wodonga
    Members Ride:
    Vt II SS 5.7
    Yeah it does have one of those. Thats what confused me. He hooked some scan thingy up to it and it said abs is not supported? Maybe coz its broken
    ??
     
  5. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Kamikraze

    Messages:
    4,730
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
    I'd say so.
    I would have thought he would have gone into a bit more detail and explained to you that it could be faulty
    and advised you what your options would be. Instead of just saying "It's not supported".
     
  6. grunt_408

    grunt_408 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Location:
    Wodonga
    Members Ride:
    Vt II SS 5.7
    Yeah he did , I will just replace it and see what happens.. If not I will have to trace a crook sensor/connection ect. Cheers.. They all have abs though yeah?
     
  7. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Kamikraze

    Messages:
    4,730
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
    They do.
    Just make sure you get the correct one.
    There should be a sticker with the model/part number on it,
    or it may be stamped on.
     

Share This Page