Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2001 VX Berlina OBD Scanner

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Shane Lawrence, Jun 14, 2019.

  1. Shane Lawrence

    Shane Lawrence New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Location:
    Kurri Kurri
    Members Ride:
    VX 3.8 V6
    Hi all I'm trying to purchase an OBD Diagnostic Scanner for my 2001 Berlina, but sick of chasing up I have drive train fault I would like to find out what it is.
    Cheers Shane
     
  2. Trevor loves holden.

    Trevor loves holden. New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    Ebay would be the cheapest for a obd 2 scanner around 50 will get you a good one, It could be anything sending it off, o2 sensor to airflow sensor or many other possibilities you need the code to pin point it.
     
    Shane Lawrence likes this.
  3. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    Shane Lawrence likes this.
  4. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Agree with BlackVXGTS, EC one is the go. I could be wrong but I didn't think that an OBD II worked on a VX anyway, unless it is a V8? I have the EC AED and it is great you can do a lot more with AED than you can with most scan tools, unless you buy a Snap On which can also operate certain parts in the trans without the engine running. IIRC the AED gives you trans data that might help diagnose a faulty valve body. The Snap On can do this too but works in a different way.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
    55ams likes this.
  5. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Pretty sure an OBD II won't work on a VX V6.
     
    55ams likes this.
  6. RiffRaffMama

    RiffRaffMama Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Location:
    Just Follow The Sound Of The Banjos, SW Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina - "Vanessa". All cars should have names
    Tested. Can confirm, doesn't work.
     
    losh1971 likes this.
  7. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Yup?
    Sure does, I have a mate of mine that has a VX II Super6 Calais, did a scan on it, and programmed 2 replacement Genuine Key Heads, and it work perfectly.
     
  8. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Tech II or OBD II?
     
    RiffRaffMama likes this.
  9. RiffRaffMama

    RiffRaffMama Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Location:
    Just Follow The Sound Of The Banjos, SW Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina - "Vanessa". All cars should have names
    When we used one on my car, which was either a VT or a VX, I can't remember which one I was driving at the time, it didn't just flat out not work, but a lot of the functions didn't work at all, and of those that did return data, it didn't make sense or couldn't have been right.
    That said, they're like $5 online now with free shipping, so if you can wait two weeks, give it a go.
    Personally, I'd find a decent mechanic and have them throw their Tech 2 on for you. It'll take 5 minutes and might cost you $50 but it'd be accurate.
     
    losh1971 likes this.
  10. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    At the time, I had a Autel MS708 but sold that and upgraded, but did the 2 Key Heads on the VX II Super6 before I sold it.
    And programmed in 1 new Key Head on my VY Super6 with my MS908P, both Autel units worked well.
    Where I did program in my VE everyday key as the old one died overnight, transmitter lost range, and it wasn’t the battery, as I replaced the battery.
    I bit the bullet and just purchased a new Key and had it cut to code, received it and programmed it, all god now.
    PS: I have recently purchased a Tech 2, and had a bit of play with the menus, it works great, a bit of practice and hopefully I will be up to speed.
     
  11. Shane Lawrence

    Shane Lawrence New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Location:
    Kurri Kurri
    Members Ride:
    VX 3.8 V6
    Thanks for the advise sorry for late response still trying to navigate on here I just joined. I think I will have to take to some one I just purchased the car 200,000 on clock not a speck of rust I'm impressed with it's condition so I will do my best to keep that way.
     
  12. Shane Lawrence

    Shane Lawrence New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Location:
    Kurri Kurri
    Members Ride:
    VX 3.8 V6
    Cheers all for response I know the OBD 11 is no good that is why I thought the first version OBD was the go but thanks for suggestions I will check out. The reason I wanted one is that I don't rate mechanics anymore???
     
  13. Juice3

    Juice3 Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    How accurate is checking the codes by bridging 5 and 6 pin with a paperclip i checked it this way few years ago and got code 12 and just now checked it again and still code 12 I thought for sure i'd get a code.
     
  14. oska

    oska Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    vx custom 600RR
    only a scan tool will show the real faults
     
  15. mpower

    mpower Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    V2 CV8 Monaro and VXII Clubsport
    losh1971 likes this.
  16. Trevor loves holden.

    Trevor loves holden. New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
  17. Trevor loves holden.

    Trevor loves holden. New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    I think without spending 500 plus on tech 2 scanner this is the closest you can get under $100, supercheap scans and prints out your cars details for around 50, also if you do bridge your 5 and 6 im sure the engine light flashers 12x before it gives out the code,
     

Share This Page