Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2004 VZ Station Wagon won’t rev past 2000 rpm

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by Ryan Schmittt, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. Ryan Schmittt

    Ryan Schmittt New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6L Aloytec, Station Wagon, 2004
    Hello everyone!

    Recently got into a crash in my VZ wagon breaking all wires within the car and leaving a mean whole in the drivers side wheel well. After being repaired for damages and running. Here is whats happening.

    1. Car started up beautifully. No problems at all (fresh coolant and gas for A/C and radiator)

    2. Began to rev and the car is restricting itself (in idle) not to go past 2000rpm

    I don’t know if it’s a code within the car that needs to be wiped that hasn’t been shown within the system or something else


    Please help!
     
  2. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Checking for any codes would be the first/best option, then you know where to start if its produced one,
    As not all codes will activate the engine light,
    assuming the Globe in the Engine light is not damaged, then it wont display any fault.
     
  3. Ryan Schmittt

    Ryan Schmittt New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6L Aloytec, Station Wagon, 2004
    Just did a read through the code (P2101)

    We’ve replaced the TAC but still the same problem, don’t know if it’s a wiring issue or not..
     
  4. Ryan Schmittt

    Ryan Schmittt New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6L Aloytec, Station Wagon, 2004
    Just did a read through the code (P2101)

    We’ve replaced the TAC but still the same problem, don’t know if it’s a wiring issue or not.. as all the wiring did break within the right side (which have been repaired) or the ECM has died from the battery being impaled
     
  5. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Yep, plug it in and get the codes.

    The ECM is a delicate little flower.
    Find a complete computer set from a wrecker for $200-ish. Takes 15-20mins to swap over and see what the engine is doing.

    Check continuity on the harness. There are some pin out diagrams here on the forum with some searching.
     
  6. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    P 2 1 0 1
    (P) OBD-II Diagnostic Powertrain
    (2) Trouble Code For Engine Fuel And Air Metering (Injector Circuit Malfunctions Only)
    (1) Fuel Rail/System Pressure - Too High
    (0) Cold Start Injector 1 Malfunction
    (1) Crankshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Low Input

    http://p2101.enginetroublecode.com/holden-commodore
     
  7. 99notout

    99notout Active Member

    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VZ Equip Wagon
    The trouble with these online trouble code sites is they are not accurate... See below for the correct P2101fault setting criteria...


     

    Attached Files:

    • TAC.pdf
      File size:
      79.9 KB
      Views:
      7
  8. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Yes, they can be misleading, on a different not,
    My 2002 VY L67, it went all un-usual a few weeks ago, [Fuel Gauge went to empty, dash chimed Low Fuel, and then with in approx. 15 seconds it was or normal again] got home and checked the code it created,
    And said it was a TPS, ordered one online, installed it,
    And its seems to be more responsive on acceleration.
     
  9. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    So from that factory data sheet, the problem might be as simple as a throttle body recalibration.
    I had this done using a Snap-On interface.
    Only took a few minutes.
     
  10. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    The VZ has a fly by wire set up. The throttle body doesn't have a replaceable TPS like previous generations of Commodore.
     
  11. 99notout

    99notout Active Member

    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VZ Equip Wagon
    That would be my guess, although it could just be a dirty throttle body shaft not closing properly... But I would clean the Throttle body well, and then check the ground and reference 5v and watch the pulse width signal from the ecu to sort it out.
     
  12. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6

Share This Page