Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2005 VZ Ececutive Stage 2 Shift Kit?

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by samettserbest, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    2005 VZ Executive Stage 2 Shift Kit?

    Hey guys, Was just wondering if a Stage 2 Shift Kit would be suitable for my VZ Commodore?

    Also, is there a specific brand yous would recommend?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2011
  2. heyitsEnricoPallazzo

    heyitsEnricoPallazzo Big block Alloytec

    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ A4 Saloon
    Transgo and B&M make them for 4L60E. I'd go Transgo. Check Ebay.

    The collective noun for a group of bogans- YOUS. A yous of bogans.

    What is the collective noun for a group of JC forum members?
     
  3. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    Thanks for your answer, I'm not interested in knowing what the collective noun for anything is at this moment,
    Though thanks for your relevant answer.
     
  4. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
    only $200!
    getting this one soon for sure
     
  5. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    Gus, is that including installation? as iv seen, $200 for the part.
     
  6. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
    my friend's a mechanic so labour shouldn't cost too much.

    thinking of getting this alongside an LSD and a power chip... but then i could just save for a V8.

    sorry for the thread hi-jack!
     
  7. henrytad

    henrytad Member

    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    Bella Vista, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Series II
    whats the advantages, benefits of putting a shift kit in? i have no idea
     
  8. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    Ive just saved you some money ... VZ's dont have chips, that is unless your going to get it tuned
     
  9. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    You're lucky then, iv got an exhaust system in mine in the future thinking of getting some extractors but after being in mates calais with shift kit, made up my mind on it. Shifts nice and hard, nice churp too...

    Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk
     
  10. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
    I'm on my phone at the moment but I'll link a picture when I get home. For $890 I can get a powerchip for my vz (3.6L) that raises then kw from 175 to 192 on 98 fuel. Or I can get it to 189 on 95.

    Works out to be around $50 per k/w
     
  11. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    If the powerchip is from "the power chip group" or something, i heard they where a scam... After reading some articles about it in my opinion a dyno tune would be better... But i may be wrong about the powerchip thing

    Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk
     
  12. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
  13. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    Yea as iv reas most people reccomend dyno tunes rather than flash the cpu.... I also read somewhere that dyno tune should be the last upgrade you should do, so if your planning on getting extractors or any other mods its best to do them before the tune

    Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk
     
  14. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    yep, plus it is easy to lose a flash just by connecting tech 2.

    If you get it done, have it dynoed, then let us know the results.

    Also on a 5 year old engine, the power output would have gone down a bit due to engine wear, so to use 175kw at the flywheel as a generic starting point is a bit much. At least a proper tune, proper dyno, you know where you started and where you finished with the paper to prove it. Thats just my opinion though.
     
  15. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
    Okay good points well if I do manage to go ahead with it (when funds permit..) I'll let everyone know before and after etc etc
     
  16. frank6969

    frank6969 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    warragul
    Members Ride:
    VZ executive
    I've noticed that transgo do a stage 3 for the 4 speed box does anyone have info on it or experienced one before?
     
  17. samettserbest

    samettserbest New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Reservoir
    Members Ride:
    VZ Commodore
    Havnt really heard of stage 3 if yiu get any info feel free to share,

    Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk
     
  18. CAPRILICIOUS WL

    CAPRILICIOUS WL New Member

    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WL CAPRICE
    Is there actually a stage 2 shift kit existing for the 5speed transmission?

    I called up a few place one was Preston automotives and differentials and they said they don't exist.

    Also what is the transmission code for the 5 speed auto with the triptronic paddle shifts. Is it LY70 or Somthing like that?

    Cheers.
     
  19. ivabiggen

    ivabiggen Banned

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Location:
    BF BEND
    Members Ride:
    vz Executive
    moronodores
     

Share This Page