Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2006 SVZ sedan - LSD / traction control.

Journeyman

Reaction score
Members Ride
Commodore svz
I have a SVZ that I am very happy with - except for the lack of traction in slippery conditions.
Now I have to say I am not experienced, all I know is in greasy / slippery [ muddy.] conditions, one wheel seems to loose traction very easily.
We are pensioners and are considering seeing more of Australia [not necessarily 4x4.] but a little extra traction = a bit more satisfaction.

Traction control I believe restrains the spinning wheel - resulting in better traction to the non gripping wheel.??
LSD as I understand it drives both wheels [equally.?] and this would appear to be more practical.
Is traction control a reasonable retro fit to my car.?
If so what would the pros and cons be between fitting an LSD or Fitting traction control.

Appreciate your comments
thanks

_R_J_K_

Reaction score
Members Ride
Zenki S14
AFAIK traction control isn't something that can really be retrofitted, not easily at least.

LSDs aren't really geared towards traction in regular/non-standard driving circumstances like 4WDs are, they're more of a performance item and don't lock all the time depending on the type of LSD (there are a few) you use and circumstances you drive in. Most daily driving 4WDs operate with an open diff any way, and only lock or engage 4WD when the driver picks that mode, which a Commodore doesn't have.