Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

253 Turbo.

NFNSUS

Reaction score
Members Ride
VH SL/x - VS BT1
Alright.. I realise there is a lot of threads to do with this but I find a lot of them hard to understand because not a lot is explained.

I have my 253 VH in the shed and I've been considering boost. Being a welder apprentice I can do the welding myself. My budget is as low as possible because this is just a project for the hell of it, I don't care if i end up with a blown motor etc because well.. As people say, boat anchor.

So.. If anyone's interested I'd love to make a step by step installation for future people to refer to.

Being a V8 does this mean ill need to go with twin turbo or is it possible to stick with one?

Living in the country there is a lot of 4WD's around ( 4L-4.2L ) so finding turbos should be relatively easy..

Anyone experienced in boost, where should I start?

vkberlina

VK Madman
Reaction score
Website
www.members.westnet.com.au
Members Ride
VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
Ok first of all petrol & deisel turbos are different, I was eyeing off a friends spare turbo for my deisel tractor and was told it wouldnt work, I needed one off a deisel engine. So I suggest you confirm this to make 100% sure before you start.

Twin turbo would yeild better results, but a single turbo would work, from memory I read somewhere you swap the LH & RH exhaust manifolds around and send them forward to a turbo then back under and out the back.

I would love to see how much boost you could give a 253 before it blew the heads off :)

Scott

NFNSUS

Reaction score
Members Ride
VH SL/x - VS BT1