Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

253 upgrades

azazeldeath

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VK Holden Commodore Wagon w/3.8L Buick
I have a 253 blue motor sitting in my back yard at the moment, and I want to rebuild it to throw it in my Pajero or in my Jeep.

My question is what kind of upgrades should I do to it? I need to throw new pistons in it (supposedly one of them cracked). And put a new carby on it (friend 'borrowed' it).

I want it to sound nice and have a good amount of power for going off road. Like to keep the price around the $2,000 to $3,000 mark. But may go over if its worth it, will go under happily lol.

I was thinking (but not entirely sure, the only old engines I have lots of experience with is Hemi and Mopars mainly).
* 'Lumpy Cam'
* Extractors
* 4-Barrel Carby off a 308

The Pajero has the 5 speed manual gear box (used to have a turbo diesel motor in it) and a good body.
The Jeep needs basically everything.

DANNY8

Yo Coooornflake!
Reaction score
Website
www.kerrbrosracing.com
Members Ride
VK WAGZ 5.0L, GQ Patrol TD42
If ur gonna have to rebuild the motor, just go buy a 308. You could easily spend ur budget on a 253 and a stocko 308 will prolly still go harder. One of my projects at the moment is a 253 with the 5L injection gear on top, plus a turbo hanging off each bank. That should go alright.

Also....I looked around a fair bit to see if there was some sort of "kit" (bellhousing, engine mounts etc etc) to put a 308 in my Triton, but couldn't find anything. The Pajero's run the same front end, so how are u gonna adapt the 253 to the Paja 5spd? I think you'd have to use a Holden box (or any box u can find a bellhousing for), then adapt the transfer case to the rear of that, and lengthen/shorten the tailshafts.