Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2Din Install in VZ - how to remove metal cage that the original CD player sits in

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by pedro78, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. pedro78

    pedro78 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VZ Acclaim
    Hi Guys,

    I bought a Double Din HU, complete wiring kit and facia kit to put in my VZ.
    It was supposed to be plug & play but i cant seem to remove the metal cage that the original CD player sits in.
    I removed the 2 screws at the front and the one at the back cant get it out.
    I need to find a way to remove it as the plug is to big and the headunit wont push back far enough.
    Can anyone point me in the right direction?
     
  2. Stewlz

    Stewlz Member

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    07 VE SSV ute M6
    If you look at the top of the cage it looks as if it's in two pieces, bend these downwards to get it out, and make sure the screw at the back inside the cage is removed.
     
  3. MAG00

    MAG00 New Member

    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VY S2 Calais
    Stewlz is correct, it has a slit up the top of the cage. You need to collapse the cage inwards to pull it out.
     
  4. pedro78

    pedro78 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VZ Acclaim
    Thanks Guys, no idea why i was having so much trouble.
    Once i got it out the rest was a piece of cake.
    I installed a JVC KW-XR816 and a steering wheel control harness.
    Nice to finally have Ipod functionality, Bluetooth and best of all i got to retain the steering wheel controls.
     
  5. MAG00

    MAG00 New Member

    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VY S2 Calais
    Good to hear mate, enjoy!
     
  6. Bazzdogs

    Bazzdogs New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, North-Western Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore S
    Hey man how did you go about wiring? i have exactly the same setup and by pure coincidence im installing the same headunit. i noticed that the stock headunit has 2 large plugs on the right hand side, i know one is the aerial but what is the other?
    also, where did you get the harness from to keep your steering wheel controls.
    i am aware this is an old thread but its the most relatable
     
  7. MAG00

    MAG00 New Member

    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VY S2 Calais
    This following eBay item is everything you'll need Bazz. It includes a standard harness to plug into your new headunit and existing wiring, while also enabling the sterring wheel controls, also has a dash fascia (as the stock headunit is a bit bigger than double din) and an antenna adaptor because the commodores use a European plug. Also includes two pieces of metal wire, needed to remove your stock headunit.

    As I said, everything you need: VY/VZ install kit
     
  8. Ghost

    Ghost Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    Junee New South Wales
    Members Ride:
    Vs Commodore berlina Sedan 1996
    Does anybody know what color the wire is for handbrake so I can park somewhere and watch dvds

    Sent From My Galaxy S3 Using Tapatalk
     
  9. Mitch4731

    Mitch4731 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Location:
    Millpark
    Members Ride:
    Vycommodore executive
    Take handbrake cover off you will find it


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. moriati

    moriati Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    vx s
    Hey I know this is an old post an old post just a question does the removal of the cage apply to vx as well I want to remove it and cut away the the piece like a half plate at the back so all the wiring will fit
     

Share This Page