Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[202] 3.3 problem - no power

mike4wd

Reaction score
Members Ride
VK Wagon on Rodeo chassis
Hi - newbie here, both to Commodores and this forum. No idea if this is the right area to post in... fingers crossed.

I bought a VK Commodore recently, with a fairly tired looking 202. It was missing a bit, but ran really well under power, was a lot of fun to drive. Today, when I stopped at lights, it stalled when I tried to move off. It started OK, but wouldn't even develop enough power to move the car. Anything more than idling was pretty much a no go. Eventually I managed to get the revs up, and bounced it across the intersection, and it ran a tiny bit better; well enough to limp to the panel shop I was taking it to (about 1km further). Now I can sort of move it, but only by getting the revs up high and dropping the clutch.

More info:
- 1986 VK Commodore
- Rodeo 4wd chassis
- Stock 202, no smoke, oil leaks everywhere
- 4 speed manual
- Off the road for 10 years before I bought it
- Drove fine for a few days

Any hints? The car is at the paint and panel place now, so I can't fiddle with it, but they'll be annoyed if they can't move it easily, so I might have to go back and see what I can do, or even take it away again. I don't want to do that, I want it tidied up!

394970524.jpg

VR38

Reaction score
Members Ride
VB SL/E
Air/vacuum leak?

VR38

Reaction score
Members Ride
VB SL/E
Dirty filters and plugs are another easy check.
Also check timing and spark colour while your there.
Is the 202 carb or injected?
Carby could do with a tune also.

vc commodore

Reaction score
Members Ride
VC, VH and VY
Change the ignition module before you bother trying anything else.