Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

304 EFI V8 Timing Setting

Snitz92

LPG Sucks.
Reaction score
Members Ride
'15 RG Colorado 2.8TD M6
Hi, on my VQ I am having LPG removed and would like to know what I need to do to change the ignition timing setting back to 10 or 11 degrees before TDC. I am still learning things about my car. I have a timing light and lots of tools. If possible could someone please list a basic walkthrough of what exactly i need to do to achieve this timing change.

GTP 85

291 hp @ the wheels
Reaction score
Members Ride
MY04 WRX, VS SSenator & VS V6 track weapon
Need to pin out at the diagnostic plug, i think it would still be in the passenger kick panel on VQ.. black and white on my VN

take the driver fuel rail cover off the engine. reach down behind the engine between the dissy and the firewall, should feel the locking bolt for the dissy. Some cars have a 13mm bolt, mine has a 14mm. Crack the bolt and back it off about a turn.

Rig the timing light up (assuming u know how to do this). On the balancer there is like an indent timing mark that you have to find, mite take a few hits on the starter motor to see it. Mark it with white out or a chalk texta.

Start the car and let the idle settle, now check where the timing is at. Big long mark on the timing case is 0. Looking at the front of the engine, to the left of that mark is advance in increments of 2. Sus where the timing is at before adjusting. Counter clockwise on the dissy is advance, clockwise is retard (hope im correct.. i only just did mine duh), but you will see which way is which as you adjust it. Personally i always adjust it when the engine is off, start it to check. when you're happy lock the bolt back down. and recheck it.

then you can pull the pin out of the diagnostic plug.