Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

304 mods

304VKCalais

Reaction score
Members Ride
84 VK Calais 304
01AD2711-C6A7-43DE-ACB8-0574BF61D1C4.jpeg
1FCD0F18-5554-476F-AB28-0B6B0D9EF996.jpeg

Hi all, I’m new to V8s so hope you can help me.
I have a VK with 304 which I believe was out of a VN 165kw motor.
Turbo 700 gearbox
10 bolt Salisbury diff 3.08 ratio

Now like I said I’m new to V8 motors so am wondering what mods Can I do to get this thing moving?
It currently has pacemaker headers, 2.5 inch exhaust into Y pipe single cat to 3 inch pipe, muffler and straight 3 inch pipe all the way to the end.
It also has a memcal in it with basic changes.
The car is slow... prob does a 0-100 is about 9 seconds and if I floor it off the mark it doesn’t even break traction. Is this normal? I expected it to go better.

What Can I do to make it quicker if you can list the mods and what I’d expect to pay for said modifications?

Hopefully it’s not to much to ask

Last edited:

EYY

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Statesman
Shouldn't have any trouble breaking traction with live axle in a light car like a vk. Check your ignition timing in diagnostic mode. Should be at 10 degrees btdc.

304VKCalais

Reaction score
Members Ride
84 VK Calais 304
Shouldn't have any trouble breaking traction with live axle in a light car like a vk. Check your ignition timing in diagnostic mode. Should be at 10 degrees btdc.

Sorry mate but how do i do that? Do i need a scan tool?

H

harrop.senator

I'm unsure where they would have put the reader in your harness but from memory you paper clip jumper the diag Port ?

How longer diff gears? In a vn-vs its normalish with good 235s not to smoke them with how slow 304s are. On the cheap a cold air intake and Thermos will take a bit of a drag of of it.