Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

304 V8 On Gas?

stateo 304

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
100
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
1998 vs serries111 statesman 5.0
gday guys im thinking about gas for my vs v8 stateo how do the v8s run on gas? does it harm the motor more than petrol
 

94 Stato V8

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverland
Members Ride
2010 VE Series 11 wagon, 2014 VF SV6 Storm Ute
We're running gas on our v8 VR stato and it goes ok. I think it runs outta puff in the top end, compared to when it runs on petrol, but goes ok. Did a run from Adelaide to Falls Creek and back a little while ago and got just a little better than 17.8l/100k on gas. If you work it out you need to be getting 48MPG on petrol to equal that. I'll give you a hint though, you wont get your trip computer to work properly on gas though, the calibrations on the fuel flow dont go far enough to get it right. Close, but not right.
I'm no expert on gas, but have had ALL my cars on gas, and have been using gas cars for nearly 20years now. I wouldn't say it harms your motor too much, but just run your car on petrol at least once a week to help keep the injectors clean. If you intend on keeping the car for a while (3-4 yrs) it makes sence to convert, unless you need the boot space. The Stato has a HUGE boot though and the bit the tank takes up shouldn't worry you too much.

Tim
 

maginoodle

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
816
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Members Ride
vy series2 ss crewman
gas is a cleaner burning fuel and wont harm the motor at all. It doesnt give you as much grunt but you will only notice when towing or at the top of the rev range.
taxis use gas and they do half a million kays. I bought a vr 6 seater taxi and it had 450,000 on it when i got it and i did another 80,000 before selling it. I did my oil changes at 10,000 instead of 5,000 in a petrol car and had no probs with it.
 

stateo 304

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
100
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
1998 vs serries111 statesman 5.0
thanks guys, were is a good place in sa to get gas(getting the unit and installed) cheers
 

bennzy

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2006
Messages
139
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Victoria, Melbourne
Members Ride
2001 VX II Berlina GenIII V8 5.7
i got my 5.7L on gas and it still runs like it was before but of course will get it dyno'd asap to see if i did loose or not :)
 

geardys

GEARDY
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
131
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
37
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
95 v8 ute 5sp
You do loose a little bit of power.
If u have a read of a book called. 'The essential Holden V8 engine manual' by Larry O'toole the u'll be able to see the difference gas makes.
a straight up swap without changing the petrol timing resulted in a loss of around 10flKwts. Once u tune the gas throttle body and timing then u get back 7flkwts, 166.

They where able to get 194kwts out of a set up that includes: an increase in comp, 2 1/2in mandrel exhaust, K&n, CAI, and a cam (duration @ .500 IN 200 EX 215, cam lift .046', lobe lift IN .452' EX .472"). The set-up also had std headers.

its was done by Gas Research Australia on a VN 304 with 140,000kms on it.

If u have a good ignition system and exhaust system plus service ur car regularly and use gas type oils then u shouldn't have a problem.

if i was doing it, i'd just go gas only. that way u can use a different inlet manifold, E.g a single plan manifold, and have the engine just run on gas. Also u can take out ur petrol tank and replace it with gas setup.

think about a larger cam with a higher comp and put out more power but still have better fuel economy then the std setup! also once u tune the system to gas or use a gas/higher comp ratio, then usually petrol won't run well, if at all!

anyway good luck.
 

94 Stato V8

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverland
Members Ride
2010 VE Series 11 wagon, 2014 VF SV6 Storm Ute
Gas fitting prices

When I was looking at fitting Gas to a VR Stato (I ended up buying a Stato with it already fitted) a few months ago I had prices of between $1850 and about $2600. I think it was Southern Automotive Specialists, South Rd, Hindmarsh that was $1850. Sorry I chucked all my paper work out when I got our Stato and didn't need it any more.
Also ask what system is being fitted.
An Impco system is best in my opinion (had about 3 cars on that), but is most expensive for repairs.
A Mega Gas Australia system should be the cheapest for repairs, from what I was told.
Been told by a few that have Gas Research that they are pretty good too (especially the Gas Only systems).
Ours has a Renzo Landi (Italy) system and seems ok.

Tim
 

stateo 304

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
100
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
1998 vs serries111 statesman 5.0
cheers for all ur info guys for all ur imput, i have a few more q's my mate has a eb falcon he just got it converted to gas and theve pluged up the intake snorkel(one that sites over the radiator) and drilled holes in the bottom of it they said it can not get any forced air into the boxas it causes back fire, no to me that looks like it would make the cars performance go down heaps as its not getting much air and its all hot air will i have to do this??
 

94 Stato V8

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverland
Members Ride
2010 VE Series 11 wagon, 2014 VF SV6 Storm Ute
I replied to your PM, but just in case anyone else is following this thread.

Not quite sure what you mean by "plugged up the intake". On my setup they fitted a a short length of blue silicon hose (like the guys with the intercoolers use) then put the gas mixer on that, then a pod filter, the other filter setup is all gone.
Backfires (in my experience) are usually only caused at startup or if you mash the throttle when its cold (not a good thing to do anyway). I cant see forced cold air causing a backfire. My EA used to backfire occasionly and I replaced the airbox a couple of times, but now it just has occy straps holding the lid on and seems ok, doesnt break it now. But thinking about it, I cant remember how long its been since it last did it, maybe I replaced the plug leads and that fixed it.
As for the Stato, I just went out and measured it. If you measure from the inside of the tail-light panel to the tank itself it measures 730mm, but remember there is a little box mounted on the tank that has the shut of tap and pipes in it, I didn't measure that. The tank goes full width between the wheel arches. Not sure how that will work with speakers, you might need to make a mock up tank and see what you think.

If you need anything else measured or whatever, let me know, I'll see what I can do.

Tim
 
Top