Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

94 OBD not working

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by losh1971, Oct 10, 2017.

  1. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Is my 94VR ute OBD2 as I can not get the vehicle to respond?
     
  2. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Did some research and my OBD's won't work as my cig lighter plug circuit has no power. Is this right?
     
  3. ephect

    ephect Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,744
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim V6
    vr-vs is aldl not obd, you need an aldl cable to read the ecu
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  4. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Then my scan tool won't work either is that right? I have an OBD scan tool. It plugged in no worries and booted up, just wouldn't communicate.
     
  5. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    what scan tool do you have? aldl is OBD1 most of the cheap scan tools/dongles are OBD2....
     
  6. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    It's supposed the be both. It wasn't expensive around 100-120 bucks. It worked fine on Jeep but that was OBD 2.
     
  7. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    what's EOBD? Maybe it doesn't read OBD 1
     
  8. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Don't think mine does OBD1. I thought my VR might have been OBD2 since the plug is the same. Should have realised not, since AFAIK OBD2 came in around late 95 early 96. Although sounds like Commodores started using OBD2 later than most.
     
  9. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
  10. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    yeah I was thinking the paper clip method will have to do. No need to buy a OBD1 tool.
     
  11. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    yeah I was thinking the paper clip method will have to do. No need to buy a OBD1 tool.
     
  12. vs-lover

    vs-lover Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS Series II Calais, VS Series II Exec Wagon
    OBD2 was not introduced until VT.

    Up to VS is "ALDL" which stands for "Assembly Line Diagnostics Link" It is a totally different GM System.

    All these cheap Asian Scan tools will NOT read up to VS. You'll need a Tech1 which are rare as hens teeth using the VR or VS cartridge. Even most of the Holden Dealers no longer have those as their employees knocked them off to either use themselves or sell on eBay as they fetch huge money now.

    Sadly we are now only left with the bridge terminals 5 & 6 method using a paper clip or short made up piece of wire in a U shape.
     
  13. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    I had it scanned once before but that was at KTAS and he used a Snap-on scan tool. Something I won't be buying in my lifetime unless I find one at a garage sale and the person doesn't know what it's worth..
     
  14. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    You can buy the software and cable(link in my last post) if you have a laptop laying around...a small eee pc laptop can be had for 100$ or so(just make sure it meets min requirements of the software you want to use) ...Cant stress how valuable it is as a diagnostic tool, has saved me hundreds of dollars rather than playing the suck it and see game......
     
    losh1971 likes this.
  15. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    I will keep it in mind Wozza as an option. :) Reckon it's something I can look at next year once I have finished building the house and wedding is all paid for. I'm overdue for a new lappy as mine is nearly had-it. Ute should be ok for a bit now hopefully.... famous last words, as I have just replaced what I'm 98% sure was a faulty TPS.
     

Share This Page