Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

About to change out VE Omega MY09 Diff

VEdriver59

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
I've brought a new (scond hand) diff off Ebay.

I want to do a straight swap, out with the old and in with the new. I'm doing this cos the VE sedan had a clunk in the back of it since I brought it at auction year or so ago.

I'm 62 years of age with arthritis just as background.

I changed out a complete diff couple years ago on an EL falcon I had and that took me two days but this will be first time I'm going to try n swap out just the diff itself, assuming it can be done that way.

How big a job is it? How long might it take me? I'm a reluctant amature backyard mechanic. I'm doing it myself cos I need to save the 450 - 500$ quoted by two shops in Perth.

More importantly I need to know how to do it.

Would appreciate any link to a guide, tips, description of how etc. Ive looked around the net and this forum trying to find such. I found some good tips from Andrew_Guppz in a post on this forum dated the 19 March 2012. Also found some tips for a VZ on the forum, dunno the difference to a VE and how much difference it makes.

thanks in advance people.

VEdriver59

Reaction score
Members Ride
Forgot to add this is a stock standard 3.27 non slip diff

MYVESSV8

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE 6LT M6
not hard, there has been a few that have a write up, google on here VE diff change you should find something, are you sure its not just the bush's or the donut on the diff flange

Last edited:

VEdriver59

Reaction score
Members Ride
Jacking up the vehicle

I plan on putting the front on stands and jack the back up with a hydraulic jack and then put stands under the sides.