Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

advice or tips rebuilding rb30

trewartha

Reaction score
Members Ride
holden rb30
g'day all

i just puicked up a holden rb30 and am going to rebuild it, i am hopeing to keep it n/a but want to get at least 250 - 350hp if thats possible without a turbo?

i've never worked really rebuilt an engine before so was wondering if there are any tips or advice you guys could give me before i start. Also it was set up to run on gas and fuel is there anything i'll need to change to get it back on fuel alone or can i just bolt on a new head and injectors??

so far i've got a few mods in mind they are

lumpier cam
DOHC off a rb25( i've heard this is a good mod anyone got feedback?)
shaved head
ported and polished ( depending on price)
advanced timing

thats what i've come up with so far any feedback or personal opions would be good.

cheers michael

Panama

Reaction score
Members Ride
'87 VL Calais with L67
i think you will be stretching it tyring to get that kind of power out of an rb30 without a turbo. i think if you want to get power from n/a you really need to go with a v8 imho.

besides, heaps of people try and get insane amounts of power from an n/a 6's and you don't really hear or see much success.

dohc is one thing i would definitely be doing. you will need to buy lumpier cams to suit the head though, not the block (i only say that because you wrote cam not cams.)

greenfoam

Reaction score
Members Ride
VP Executive R-spec
I was going to post the other day but didn't want to hurt your enthusiasm. It's not a good engine to try and make NA power, the twin cam head will help alot but in the end it's just too small and doesn't have enough cylinders to make good power without boost

trewartha

Reaction score
Members Ride
holden rb30