Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

advice please! ..Is this stub axle okay to use or bin

c@l@is

Reaction score
hi all just want opinions on this before i bother wasting time cleaning up this left strut ..

My concern is the outer bearing closest to the nut was flogged and starting to give in and it looks to have either span on or heated up the outer part of the stub a fraction, from memory the bearing was not noisy as such while driving the car however i was getting some wheel wobble at highway speed from that side of the car so i knew something was about to give! when disassembling the brakes yesterday i noticed the hub nut was quite loose and i only needed minimal effort with multigrips to undo it, borderline finger tight!.

I mean i am no expert on this stuff but it doesn't look overly bad to me and at the same time its not perfect either, not sure how forgiving these are so not sure if i should find another strut and hope its better than this one lol, dress this up a little with some extremely fine paper and reuse, reuse without cleaning it up? .. any advise here would be appreciated

also, would the stub stiffeners sold on ebay be worth using in this case? i don't go fast they would be purely to limit bearing movement.

cheers :)

Attachments

• stub axle.jpg
    stub axle.jpg
    139.2 KB · Views: 157

gossie

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE International 3.6L
New is needed.
If that stub axle breaks ————-

c@l@is

Reaction score
Ahh okay that's a bummer I was thinking the bearing might spin on the seat but I didn't think for a minute it might actually bust :(

Problem with getting new is they are NLA

MikeC

Reaction score
Members Ride
VQ Statesman
Ahh okay that's a bummer I was thinking the bearing might spin on the seat but I didn't think for a minute it might actually bust :(