Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Alloytec] Aftermarket ECU for Alloytec? Variable cam timing seems to be the issue...

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by volcom20, May 29, 2011.

  1. volcom20

    volcom20 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Taree, NSW
    Members Ride:
    EL Fairmont
    Ok, now I know what you're all thinking "Alloytec aftermarket ECU? The unit in the car can be flashed!" or something along those lines.

    Well, lets get to the point, I'm a ford guy, buying a Holden Gemini Panelvan. Planning on doing the V6 conversion. Now I know it's pretty straight forward with the ecotec, but it only has 130kw or something in that ball park.

    The alloytec engine is much more appealing, with 180 odd kws at the flywheel. Getting it into the gemi means an after market ecu in my mind, as I dont want to try making a mess of a loom and trying to retain the factory ecu (although, this might end up being the way to go... Although I hope not...)

    So, what can I do? Is there an ECU that's going to run this engine and it's variable cam timing without being overly expensive? Whatever it is I do plan on installing the ECU myself, so something with a pre-loaded tune on it for the engine would be muchly desiered. I thought I'd ask here as you guys would have the most knowlage when dealing with these engines.

    Let me know, what are my options :) - Thanks, J.Coble.
     
  2. Kiddo

    Kiddo You're serious bro?!

    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Mitsubishi Colt
    If i was you, i'd get a Ecotec from a vt (Or similar) as they have about 147flyKW. Ecotecs have MUCH more options for modifications. CAI, lifts,springs, cams, memcals, rockers, the list is pretty big. But with a alloytec you have, what, cai, manifold, exhaust?

    This didnt answer your question, but i think you might wanna revise your engine selection.
     
  3. Dr HaxZaw

    Dr HaxZaw New Member

    Messages:
    1,462
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    R34 GT-T
    the ecotec would be eaiser theres no doubt but then i dont think he's doing the conversion because its easy :D
    id say you should be able to find someone who could do something for the alloytech... talk to mace as i know he is able to tune the newer alloytechs so he might be able to help you out
     
  4. GlenM

    GlenM New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    Merredin
    Members Ride:
    VY SS Ute
  5. drift-it

    drift-it New Member

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, QLD
    Members Ride:
    '12 Px ranger 4x4
    the alloytec is a larger engine aswell... i think???
     
  6. bloomers

    bloomers New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VZ
    Have you made any progress on this. I am interested in how you are going to do the mod. I am going to do similar into an EH.
     

Share This Page