Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Aftermarket gauges; Wiring the same?

VYMAD

SILVERFOX
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,908
Reaction score
13
Points
38
Age
46
Location
BUNDABERG Q
Members Ride
VY EXECUTIVE S2
Well my 52 mm
Calibre oil pressure gauge ****
itself, surprise, surprise! Repco have
Autotecnica on sale ATM. Would the
wiring be the same for both, do you
think? Calibre had single wire to
pressure sender, constant positive,
accessories positive and of course the
earth and light. Mainly I'm wondering
about the sender wire, are they all
single wire? As I don't want to have to
run yet ANOTHER wire
through my already
spaghetti looking clutch grommet! Thanks
for any help. BTW, I'm not interested in
going top of the range brands. Supercrap
said Calibre brand no longer exists, so
that's why I'm looking at these Repco
ones.
 

ari666

250,000 hits
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
11,829
Reaction score
120
Points
63
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
1966 impala, R32 GTR
usually, pressure and temp guages are just displays for a resistance. i.e. the sender wire goes to the sender, the sender is earthed. on cold it reads a high resistance thus 0 but as the resistance decreases, it reads higher. which is why to test a guage you take the sender wire off and earth it to make it go to full.

so in summary, there should only be 1 sender wire... but... whether the sender does the correct resistance for the guage may be a different story.


also: your car may be different. so ignore everything i just said
 

VYMAD

SILVERFOX
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,908
Reaction score
13
Points
38
Age
46
Location
BUNDABERG Q
Members Ride
VY EXECUTIVE S2
Thanks.. Ithink?
 

ari666

250,000 hits
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
11,829
Reaction score
120
Points
63
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
1966 impala, R32 GTR
lol what im trying to say is that a 308/202/350 chevy etc temp sender is something 0/90 ohm, but some 'pricol' guages i bought for the impala needed 0/125ohm to read correctly, so had to buy the correct sender to suit the guage. they were still all single wire, so the 90 ohm worked, just not accuratly.
 

VYMAD

SILVERFOX
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,908
Reaction score
13
Points
38
Age
46
Location
BUNDABERG Q
Members Ride
VY EXECUTIVE S2
OK, ari666 I just finished installing the
new gauge, it was a single wire, and I
left the old sender in.However
now it's running 20-30 PSI instead of
the normal range 40 PSI. Time to install
the sender that came with the new gauge,
eh? Cheers.
 

VYMAD

SILVERFOX
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,908
Reaction score
13
Points
38
Age
46
Location
BUNDABERG Q
Members Ride
VY EXECUTIVE S2
Yep, installed said new sender- all good
now. Thanks for your help.
 
Top