Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Aftermarket Power Windows

Discussion in 'Electrical Wiring / Questions' started by NORTI, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. NORTI

    NORTI Crazy VS lady

    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Gen 2’s
    I do have aftermarket power windows in the VN.

    Prob is the driverside is not working well.

    Its slow on the down, however is bloody painfull on the way up!

    I press the button & it goes up 5mm at a time, then I hear it 'click' & I have to wait a min or so & press it again.

    For those in adel.... I started winding it up last nite at Grand Junction/South Rd. I finally got it all the way up at the Reynella exit of the expressway!!!!

    The passenger is slow but steady atleast & doesnt cut out as the driverside does :( I havent pulled the door trim off yet to look at it. But as its aftermarket I didnt think I could just pop down the wreckers for new motor lol.


    So is the motor screwed or something else??



    D.
     
  2. maginoodle

    maginoodle Member

    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vy series2 ss crewman
    how long since it was fitted? It sounds like the relay isnt letting the full amount of power through. It would be going down quicker cause of gravity.
     
  3. NORTI

    NORTI Crazy VS lady

    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Gen 2’s
    who knows? lol

    I bought the car last week ;)


    D.
     
  4. maginoodle

    maginoodle Member

    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vy series2 ss crewman
    i would find the relay (dont know where it is cause they could have fitted it anywhere try the near the fuse panel) and swap it with one that you know that works properly. If that fixes it put a new relay in.
     
  5. ssute57l

    ssute57l New Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VYII SS UTE
    When it clicks, it sounds like the circuit breaker is popping (high current draw under load), try lubricating the runners inside the window guides with a dry lube spray available from auto parts shops,
    Relay is either on or off, if it starts working it should be ok.
    Good luck after market windows are a pain in the ass.
     
  6. NORTI

    NORTI Crazy VS lady

    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Gen 2’s
    thx! Ill try that, I take it you mean like silicon spray etc???


    & I figured aftermarket windows would be a real hassle :( - damn it why cant people just pull apart a Calais? lol



    D.
     
  7. ssute57l

    ssute57l New Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VYII SS UTE
    Yeah i think it is silicon spray, there is a product in a smaller can that is mainly green and black(cant remember name), but the blokes at repco etc should know.
     
  8. NORTI

    NORTI Crazy VS lady

    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Gen 2’s
    cool. Well when I get my car back (hopefully tomorrow arvo) from the trans place (with new shift kitted trans) Ill go & get some & give it ago....


    D.
     

Share This Page