Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Alarm Indicator (Hazard) Help

azkwazere

Ahhh Yes, Ahhh Yes....
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
1,813
Reaction score
38
Points
0
Age
33
Location
.....SE Burbs
Members Ride
VP 5-SPD / 24-SPD Racer Hybrid
Sorry about the title but i am installing the alarm in my car...
everything is done, works perfectly, however, i need to hook the (+) indicator wire up to the idcators.

I figured that i could just hook it up to the hazard switch but on inspection i noticed that it has uber amounts of wires.

One is a constant (+12V) the others are inactive. Upon button depress (hazard buutton that is) the rest alternate in voltages... which wire do i hook it up to?????

Thanx!

aZk.
 

azkwazere

Ahhh Yes, Ahhh Yes....
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
1,813
Reaction score
38
Points
0
Age
33
Location
.....SE Burbs
Members Ride
VP 5-SPD / 24-SPD Racer Hybrid
Bump.... need help with this one 2nyt

aZk.
 

ssute57l

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
45
Members Ride
VYII SS UTE
under the steering column, you will find the wires going to the ind stalk, you need to put one side on at a time, probe the wires with a test light, when you find the test light flash, turn the indicators to the other side and it should stop flashing if it does not keep looking, then repeat for the other side (from memory green with black and green with yellow).
Not sure if its making sense but it is abit hard to explain on a keyboard.
You only want the test light to flash on one side at a time

If the alarm has two ind wires, these go to each of the two ind wires.
If the alarm has only one wire for ind you will need 2 diodes to split the circuit.
 

markovr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
2,979
Reaction score
123
Points
63
Age
59
Location
northside brisbane
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
07vessv 94vr .04vz wgn,93vp wgn,82 vhV6 wgn 88 vn
You could do it at a few places but if it is at the hazard switch the left indicator is the light blue wire on term 5 or the right a blue wire on term 6 of the switch you need to use a 2 diodes so there is no back feed and the indicators work in their normal operation when driving.
 

azkwazere

Ahhh Yes, Ahhh Yes....
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
1,813
Reaction score
38
Points
0
Age
33
Location
.....SE Burbs
Members Ride
VP 5-SPD / 24-SPD Racer Hybrid
thanx guys n girls... i was thinking diodes but didn't want to bother until i knew for sure.

much appreciated!

aZk.
 

ssute57l

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
45
Members Ride
VYII SS UTE
You may not need the diodes, if the alarm has 2 outputs, most do.
 
Top