Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Amp Power cable routing V8 motor

fyfee

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Messages
96
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
31
Location
Bayside, Victoria
Members Ride
'04 VY II Calais
Hi all.

After a few weeks of reading these forums and researching ways people have routed their amp power cable I decided to tackle it today.

Ended up going from the battery, past the fuse box, around the strut tower and through the firewall on the left side (as you're standing in front of the car) of the brake booster where the wiring harness goes through. I figured I would take some snaps incase anyone wants to do something similar. There was not a lot of photos through the threads I was searching so I decided to take some of my own


















Now all I'm waiting on is to get my birthday present from my girlfriend of a Double Din DVD player...and of course getting off my P's and swapping my amp and sub when I've finished with them in my current car.

Thanks to all who have gone into detail about the routing of their wiring (both power and audio) as it was a great help for me today
 

Big_Simmo

Deep Blue Cranberry
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
356
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
36
Location
Perth
Members Ride
2016 Series 2 SSV Redline Ute
exactly what ive done :)
 

axemurderer101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
1,880
Reaction score
132
Points
63
Location
Albany
Website
forums.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
VY SS
i ran my 0 gauge wire through the same grommit, just used a kitchen knife to cut a slit above the main harness. just have to be real careful not to damage any of the wires
 

DUK13Y

When in doubt, slide it out
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
793
Reaction score
5
Points
18
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
VEII SSV, VYII Berlina, '97 Lancer
Thanks man. Very helpful. I'll be doing this soon myself and the photo's really help map out how to run it. How hard was it to get through the firewall into the footwell?
 

fyfee

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Messages
96
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
31
Location
Bayside, Victoria
Members Ride
'04 VY II Calais
Thanks man. Very helpful. I'll be doing this soon myself and the photo's really help map out how to run it. How hard was it to get through the firewall into the footwell?
It was difficult. I poked through the firewall with a small screwdriver (from the footwell side) and then used a bigger screwdriver (about the same width as the 4 gauge wire) to attempt to open it up enough to get the wire through. The rubber of the grommet was tough enough to actually bend the wire (keep in mind it's thick wire). I ended up using a lot of silicon spray and poked my finger through to open it up more. I then quickly slipped the wire in before the grommet was able to shrink too much. After that I just pulled the wire through from the engine bay side. Good news though is it's an extremely tight fit so it's pretty much watertight
 

a1k3m1

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2010
Messages
359
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Central Victoria
Members Ride
2003 VY II S-Pack 25th Anniversary
here is where i ran my cables .. Went around the fuse box, and then through the grommet that the bonnet popping cable goes through, Was a tight squeeze with the 4 Gauge cable i used, so i wouldn't do this idea with 2 or 0 gauge, then from the inside ive got the exact setup as you down the door trim and into the boot, with the RCA's going on the passenger side.. saves me going through the clutch grommet like most people do..


 

Nic92

Active Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
1,639
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Location
WA
Website
www.youtube.com
Members Ride
2005 Mitsubishi Evolution 9
here is where i ran my cables .. Went around the fuse box, and then through the grommet that the bonnet popping cable goes through, Was a tight squeeze with the 4 Gauge cable i used, so i wouldn't do this idea with 2 or 0 gauge, then from the inside ive got the exact setup as you down the door trim and into the boot, with the RCA's going on the passenger side.. saves me going through the clutch grommet like most people do..



already done it with 0 gauge :D











 

a1k3m1

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2010
Messages
359
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Central Victoria
Members Ride
2003 VY II S-Pack 25th Anniversary
looks good man.. what did ya think of that ANL Fuse holder thing with the voltmeteres and stuff.... So tempted to get one .. you think there worth getting?
 

SuperSixty6

Alto Rullo
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
323
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Brisbane.
Members Ride
Landcruiser TD
I wish all installs were that simple! My Current project car...

(Yes that's four runs of 0/1 Gauge)
 

Attachments

Top