Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Amps/Subs/Speakers wiring

Trennaa

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,609
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Age
33
Location
Melbourne, AU
Members Ride
Qwerty
Is there anywhere where I can get a instruction manual/diagram or something for wiring subs to amps etc..

Also.. What is the best combination to have speakers wired into the Head unit or amp, I have:
2 'fly' 6 1/2" 120W

(plan to have)
2 190W 6 1/2" in doors

and
Clarion 600W (Dual Voice Coil)12" Subwoofer
 

PIMPIN

The Lurker
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
612
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
VIC
Members Ride
VTII Calais 3.8 WHII Statesman LS1
Try THIS it might help ya...

Usually with the amp I think you usually get an installation guide...Failing that, I think I have an Cadence Amp manual that shows ya stuff in PDF form...

Combo wise...I would get a 4 channel for the speakers and a monoblock for the sub.
 

Trennaa

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,609
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Age
33
Location
Melbourne, AU
Members Ride
Qwerty
Ah.. Thank you, I really coulda got off my rectal and google'd it, but I didn't have time, and just got in.. but - thank you nevertheless.
 

Trennaa

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,609
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Age
33
Location
Melbourne, AU
Members Ride
Qwerty
I was just wondering about wiring a sub woofer up..

Also -
should I wire the four 6" speakers to the amp or head unit - im thinking wire to head unit and only have amp to woofer?
 

Bax

Projecting
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
36
Points
0
Age
36
Location
QLD
Members Ride
Nothing
Depends on the amp really, how many channel etc.

I've got 4 6" running off my headunit and 2 subs running off my single amp. Not a problem yet.
 

Trennaa

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,609
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Age
33
Location
Melbourne, AU
Members Ride
Qwerty
yea, thats the way i was thinking about wiring it up.. 6" to headdy and sub to amp.
 

Trennaa

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,609
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Age
33
Location
Melbourne, AU
Members Ride
Qwerty
Well.. I went to Autobarn this afternoon to see how much all this would cost me.. and had a big shock. Salesman told me:

Sub
Box
Amp
Wiring

All in a kit for $429
talk about :eek: but instead of another fortnight for the gear, give it another couple of months lol
 

xstatic

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2003
Messages
384
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
32
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
vt gen 3 berlina
i would wire it up like this

1. run the fronts off of the head deck
2. buy a 4 channel amp and run your rear speakers off 2 channels (1 each)
3. with the spare 2 channels bridge them and run your sub.

cheers

scott
 

Trennaa

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,609
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Age
33
Location
Melbourne, AU
Members Ride
Qwerty
Alright, I've sorted the finances, and HOPEFULLY next week on the thursday (cross fingers) ima take a trip to Autobarn and pick some goodies up.
 
Top