Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Another newbie thread

azzfox

Braaap.
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
VE SS-V
Hey guys, soon I will be attempting to respray the VN in the original color dorward blue. Now I have never painted a car before but have never felt so keen to give it a go. Anyway, being a near-complete noob on the subject I have a few things I want to clear up.

Acrylic paint - I have been convinced to go acrylic because its a backyard/shed job. Should I be able to achieve the factory or similar look? As far as I understand it would have been 2k from the factory?

Single color - In direct light it looks purple. As far as I know factory paint only had the single base color? Or does this paint require a second color?

Crows feet - MAJOR crows feet on the bonnet. The boot lid too but nowhere near as deep. But I will most likely replace these 2 items as someones decided to drill random holes in the boot lid to fix the spoiler. The cracks on the bonnet as I said are pretty deep and have become a bit rusty. But now I have noticed light crows feet elsewhere on the body that cant simply be replaced. Can I just fill/sand until smooth or will I have to take it down to metal? If so how do I build it back up again? Assuming I cant just lay down primer.

Compressor - 50L 2.2hp, 174 L/min (6.1 CFM) FAD. I take it should be right for what I need it for. Probably just do one panel at a time or something anyway.