Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Any Information on rebuild ecotec, Cam/Heads/Manifold.

uNEEk

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT 3.8 V6 EQUIPE
Hello all, i have recently been looking at new gear to do a minor rebuild on my spare ecotec that i have sittting in my shed.

I have been looking on a few websites in the US for 3800 cams/heads/rockers etc.

And i just want some advice from anyone who has used the parts, or knows more about them, im just getting into engines and have started stripping mine down and learning off the internet as i go.

soo i have found these few websites with quite cheap, appealing parts,

This cam here, i am looking at in combination with ported & flowed heads/manifolds. is it too over the top for a commodore? any opinions/feedbaack will be great.

3800 THRASHER Suspension & Big Brakes Kits - NEW - Pontiac Grand Prix GTP, Chevy Monte Carlo / Impala SS, Buick Regal GS - Thrasher Engineered Performance

Or a milder cam something along the lines of this one

Comp Cams Xtreme Energy L36 Cam 2: 3800 Performance

Plus my car already has all the usual boltons: Exhaust, Intake, Oversize Throttle Body etc.

Thanks everyone & im putting the engine when its finished infront of a getrag 5 speed with a LSD diff

Cheers

acarmody

Donati..Whoa Green
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Berlina
The Thrasher cam would be an absolute dog on the street.

chargedvx6

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SII HBD Calais L67
That thrasher cam is for a supercharged engine. The comp one looks o.k.

uNEEk

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT 3.8 V6 EQUIPE
Ok thanks, so would you's reccomend buying one of these comp cams over a comp cam from mace? the cam is actually exactly half the price, ($324.99)