Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Anyone fitted an Airhammer CAI to their LFX engine?

Discussion in 'Mace Engineering' started by DevilDRake, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    Hey guys

    As title suggests - I just finished fitting mine (mind you it almost seemed like it wouldn't fit together properly - but that's a different story) and went for a drive.

    First up, sounded great had more induction note for sure, even when driving. Has a noticeable amount of response down low.

    Main issue I'm having is I go up about 3-4K Rev's and it seems like it's not getting enough air? The revs start building some-what lower than usual with less power.

    Anyone else has this issue with the LFX trying to adjust to the new air intake? Idling/reving on the spot is no problems at all.

    I had put a fair bit of pipe into the air filter though as it wouldn't fit otherwise.. and even then it was a VERY tight fit..

    Anyone else have drama's fitting? Hoping to hear mainly from LFX owners as I think this kit i have is slightly different to how it needs to be for fitting as I had to buy more parts for it (roughly $20).

    Cheers, here's some pics (FYI not having a go at Mace - Steve helped me out with this one just wanted to know others input on it.) It looks like it's fit straight on with the MAF pipe but It isn't.. had to sort of go on an angle.

    I CANNOT feel/hear any air leaks.. but I could be wrong.


    EDIT: Just adjusted a little more and the A/F is properly secured onto pipe rather than alot of it in - Still has the same issue though.

    Kinda bummed at the moment, went for a drive and you can EASILY hear the induction roar but just the real lack of power that's heaps less than usual. I hope it's a learning thing but I wont find out for 6 months without a license. Only took it for a 30 minute spin around my block few times.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2013
  2. Kiddo

    Kiddo You're serious bro?!

    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Mitsubishi Colt
    Give it some time to adjust itself. It's only a CAI.....i hope you didn't expect it to become a rocket ship.
     
  3. commodore665

    commodore665 expat Saffa

    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand via Cape Town
    Members Ride:
    2005 SV6 & Alfa Romeo 156 V6
    To many people expect far to much by putting a CAI on there cars , as you say , give it time to re~adjust , but don't expect it tear off down the motorway in a cloud of tyre smoke


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. Kiddo

    Kiddo You're serious bro?!

    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Mitsubishi Colt
    Yup, the engine will only take in what it needs to. If it was getting 100% of the required air with the stock intake, then adding a performance one will do nothing. I ran into the same issue with mine. Makes massive noise, but little else.
     
  5. commodore665

    commodore665 expat Saffa

    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand via Cape Town
    Members Ride:
    2005 SV6 & Alfa Romeo 156 V6
    In my view the only way that a preformance CAI system has any benefit to make "real" gains is to have feeding a forced induction system ie supercharged or turbo , you'll get some small benefits on a N/A engine , some more poke down low and mid-range .


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2013
  6. billy bob

    billy bob Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VE S2 SV6
    I brought an Airhammer and didn't end up installing it.
    The bits just didn't seem to fit properly.
    Luckily i got it cheap off ebay, probably why the last guy sold it.
     
  7. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    I like how everyone plays the "CAI WILL GIVE NO MORE POWER" card. Where did I say I was expecting more?

    Before you put the input in, re-read what I said. I'm having dramas with the engine, when say it's dead power, it's gone from 150kw to 50kw from example. I KNOW it's not supposed to make it go faster, it'll be used in conjunction with other modifications.

    What I'm saying is the car dramatically slower. But I cannot see or hear ANY vacuum leaks but it feels like there is one. This is where I wanted input.

    I've fitted one to my old car and it was fine, slightly more responsive but no more power. This has more response until about 2500rpm and it sort of dies. As if it's gone from a 3.6L motor to an old excel or something. I can't explain it properly and I'll have another look over the weekend.

    Not trying to sound like a cock, but this is the reason i requested LFX owners as I have no idea how these new computers work. I don't understand how it can run so much like **** at that rpm and not throw and codes and idle perfectly. I'm not here to debate about CAI giving more power. You can't get more power trying to give an engine more air when there's the same stock amount coming back out.


    @Billy - Yeh it seems the bits didn't fit properly for my behalf also.. Not sure if it's just suited to Series 1 but i would of though it'd be the same.
     
  8. Kiddo

    Kiddo You're serious bro?!

    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Mitsubishi Colt
    Don't get your knickers in a bunch mate. Take some videos as an example.

    Also, like I said before. Give the computer some time to adjust. It needs more then a 30 minute flog around the street.
     
  9. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    It'd say it's leaning out at those rpm's seeing as that's where it makes most of the torque. Too bad you've lost your license for 6 months because I think it'll get better the more you drive it.
     
  10. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    Haha like I said wasn't trying to be a cock, just trying to say it directly to the point.

    Wasn't 30 minutes it was alot shorter than that haha - I can understand that they need to adjust but it's just weird how bad it is. Still believe it's a vacuum leak or something to do with the PCV hose. Will re-do it this weekend and have a look.

    I can't take a video of it as it's not something you can really see but feel. You can feel how restricted it is. It's like having your exhaust and putting your hand on the end of it for an example. Hard to explain but i will look into it.




    This could also be true, I was hoping somebody with the same engine could clarify if they had the same problems. Got my exhaust going on this weekend also so i'll have a fiddle around.
     
  11. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    Well when I first had my otr on it did have a bit of a flat spot like it wouldn't pull any harder.
     
  12. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    For maybe 1k revs? or all the way from 3-6k or so? for an example.
     
  13. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    Can't exactly remember but it was above 3000rpm.
     
  14. Big-Al

    Big-Al Banned

    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location:
    Aussie and proud
    Members Ride:
    VY SS 5.7 M6
    Put it back to stock and see if the power is restored. If so, then ditch the air hammer. Life is too short to waste time on "mods" that don't produce.
     
  15. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    Will be trying this on the weekend if I can't get it better. Start from square one again
     
  16. Big-Al

    Big-Al Banned

    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location:
    Aussie and proud
    Members Ride:
    VY SS 5.7 M6
    Is that the stock MAF meter? did you install it in the correct orientation? Usually has an arrow sign pointing in the direction of air flow.
     
  17. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    Yeh stock MAF meter. The tubing has an adapter to fit it on which is all good and well. Made sure it's going the correct way it's the first thing I checked.
     
  18. Big-Al

    Big-Al Banned

    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location:
    Aussie and proud
    Members Ride:
    VY SS 5.7 M6
    Definitely odd that it would cause lack of power then. I'm guessing there is a pod filter on the other end inside the air box?
     
  19. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    Correct-oooo. That's why I'm so stumped.
     
  20. Big-Al

    Big-Al Banned

    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location:
    Aussie and proud
    Members Ride:
    VY SS 5.7 M6
    What do you mean by "I had put a fair bit of pipe into the air filter though as it wouldn't fit otherwise".

    Do you need to cut the pipe shorter?
     

Share This Page