Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ask the Speedometer repair guy..........

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by speedotom, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    Ask the Speedometer repair guy.......... pm for a quicker response.

    If you have any problems, just ask.

    Speedo, Fuel, Temp, Oil, Tacho, cables, speed correction, etc.....

    PM me for a quick response.

    Cheers
    Tom
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
  2. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    Hey I put 18's on my vl with 40 profile tyres, it came standard with 14's and 70 or 75 profiles. Could you tell me if you know if my speedo is out now and if it would be reading faster or slower? It seems to be fairly accurate which I thought was strange.
     
  3. Shounak

    Shounak The Kicking Horse

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
    On my mate El, the speedo keeps flickering.. Like it's very very wobbly, it'll tell u an accurate speed but just wobbles..

    What causes this and how can it be rectified?

    Cheers..
     
  4. bangers

    bangers New Member

    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    EL FALCON XR6
    if the overall diameter is bigger then you'll lose acceleration but gain top end. your speedo should be slower then what you're actually going. depending how much bigger is how great the difference is. there might only be a difference of a couple of kms at say 60 (which you won't notice) but at 110 the difference could be 10 which is a fine. they do it on semi's all the time. they get the speedo and limiter set on small wheels then put bigger ones on, so the limiter cuts in at 100 on the speedo but they are really doing from 110 -120. thats why they fly past on the freeway (assuming you are doing the speed limit of course)
     
  5. Jules86

    Jules86 The Cream Machine

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rockhampton
    Members Ride:
    VL(VeryLow) Commodore Exec.
    How do you wind back the odemeter, if you know?
     
  6. bangers

    bangers New Member

    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    EL FALCON XR6
    put the car on stands and put it in reverse and leave it for a while. just kidding. what model car?
     
  7. Lost_Pete

    Lost_Pete Member

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN Wagon
    Try using this calculator;

    http://www.rochfordtyres.co.uk/tyrecalc.asp

    regards
    Pete
     
  8. semi

    semi GOD

    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VR exec wagon
    You dont. They have pretty tricky gears in them, and if you try, you'll stuff it up. Not to mention its probably illegal. Only way to do it is to get a pro to do it.

    If you were just curious, ignore this
     
  9. Just_Ice

    Just_Ice New Member

    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Perth
    My odometer has stopped working.... who fixes them...?
     
  10. gopher

    gopher Active Member

    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    Here
    Members Ride:
    Car
    lol you should defect yourself on that :whistling

    why not fix it yourself
    ive done it on a VP & its easy as
    theres a little cog that turns the numbers that breaks.
    i think i saw on here somewhere that somebody is able to get the cogs
     
  11. HDT_aero

    HDT_aero Banned

    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    manual VN aero
    ok what are each of the pins on the rear trip computer plug for... im talking about the ones that plug into the clusters flexable pcb?? for a vn commodore
     
  12. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    If you messure the overall diameter of the 14" tyre and compare it to the diameter of the 18" tyre, you will find that they are very similar, it's possible that it will be out, but it won't be by much.
    Tom

     
  13. VS_chick

    VS_chick Guest

    hey there

    with my speedometer the little neddle thing gets stuck, i just have to tap the cover and then it goes up to what speed i am doing,but is there anyway to fix it so it will work properly

    cheers
    amy
     
  14. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    I would start with the driven gear and the speed sensor, check it out to see if it's worn. Also check the wiring especially near the firewall.

    If that doesn't fix it try replacing the speed sensor.

    If it's still playing up the speedo may need some attention.

    Tom


     
  15. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    Easy!!! I can do both anologue and digital.
    Tom

     
  16. Infus10n

    Infus10n New Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    Holden Captiva (Work Demo)
    Are you using a custom guage face by any chance, if you are there is a possibility the background has warped (mine did) and is stopping the needle from moving. Mine warped near the temp guage stopping that from working.
     
  17. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    I can, but if you to have a go at it yourself, I'll try and step you through it.
    Tom


     
  18. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    I can supply any parts you need.
    Tom

     
  19. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    Do you mean all the pins (which are labelled on the cluster) or the ones that go into the back of the speedometer and voltage regulator.
    Tom

     
  20. speedotom

    speedotom Auto Instrument Repairer

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Members Ride:
    2003 V2 CV8-R MONARO
    G'day amy,
    Yes it can be repaired but the speedometer movement will have to be pulled apart. Inside there is a tiny well filled with dampning fluid, after a while the fluid crystalizes and goes hard. We remove the old dampning fluid and replace with some new improved fluid.
    Tom

     

Share This Page