Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ask the Speedometer repair guy..........

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by speedotom, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. Vt-Brrrlina

    Vt-Brrrlina vp bt1 gts replica

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Western Aust
    Members Ride:
    vp bt1 5.0ltr full GTS kit
    v6 and v8 are different... PM 88greenvn hes the (other) guru lol hes had a lot of experience and should be able to point u in the right direction.. i know he has a fix for vn - vp v8 -v6 clusters.
     
  2. 88GreenVN

    88GreenVN Next Exit Left

    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Surprise, Arizona
    Members Ride:
    Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
    If the Clubsport loom has the 4th plug as a factory patch loom you can just install that loom and it should all work fine.
     
  3. slutvs

    slutvs New Member

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    1997 VS Ute series II
    so you mean, the car will be under by a few k's at low speed while its building up, but once it gets going it will build up speed quicker and be over? correct me if im wrong
     
  4. decrepitbirth

    decrepitbirth New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Members Ride:
    commodore executive series 2
    Hey i have an VN executive, and at random times the speedo looses power, the lights on the speedo go off and the acceleration gauge goes dead. The fuel gauge still works and the rev counter, aswell as the parking light on the dash. This problem only happens when i turn on my lights. It still drives normally but in the middle of the night when the speedo lights suddenly turn off its a bit dodgy. Any ideas? Cheers
     
  5. savage1987

    savage1987 Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
    I have a 1990 VN 5litre ex-cop, with a long range tank on it complete with the factory dual-pump setup.. When I fill the fuel tank the gauge goes like an extra 1/4 tank off the top above the full mark. Does this mean my sender unit is from a regular tank?
     
  6. Stretchomatic

    Stretchomatic Member

    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Ardlethan, NSW
    Members Ride:
    86 VL Berlina M5
    Bit of a thread dig, but it's relevant. My VL's odo and trip conked out the other day, i read in here that you can repair the cog to better than new, as they dont sell them anymore. looking through ebay, i found these VDO replacements and thought i would ask, should i try and repair, or just replace it?

    Speedo Odometer Cog Sun Repair Gear Holden Commodore VL | eBay

    cheers, jason
     
  7. Ghost

    Ghost Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    Junee New South Wales
    Members Ride:
    Vs Commodore berlina Sedan 1996
    Its easy to repair ive done it heaps of times
     
  8. Stretchomatic

    Stretchomatic Member

    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Ardlethan, NSW
    Members Ride:
    86 VL Berlina M5
    yeah i havent pulled it apart yet, does the cog break in half? or does the centre strip out? i dont think ill touch it for a little while, seeing as my speedo bounces a bit, so i might order a new cable first.

    cheers.
     
  9. 87RB30VL

    87RB30VL Swiggidy Swag

    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Location:
    North Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    09' FG XR6 Falcon, 75' HJ Kingswood Ute
    My speedo doesn't work when I first drive my VL after it's been sitting for around an hour or so, but I can either wait till it changes gear (sometimes), or tap the plexi glass cover and it bounces back to life. I wouldn't have a clue as to how to repair mine, though :(
     
  10. savage1987

    savage1987 Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
    is there something i need to solder when my fuel gauge has just started to stick on empty for the first time ever? in a VN V8
     
  11. Ghost

    Ghost Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    Junee New South Wales
    Members Ride:
    Vs Commodore berlina Sedan 1996
    Try slapping the dash the old clusters sometimes stick or if that doesn't work I'd be checking the fuel level sender
     
  12. savage1987

    savage1987 Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
    slapping the dash works - I was more asking if there is a fix so I don't have to do that.


    A dash slap is a constant reminder to me that my car is a dying piece of **** (even though it's actually not, that's what it says to me :p)
     
  13. Ghost

    Ghost Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    Junee New South Wales
    Members Ride:
    Vs Commodore berlina Sedan 1996
    Ok well the older clusters will always stick if your willing to spend some serious $$$ get a lvl 3 dash and patch loom guages work great and everything looks great
     
  14. savage1987

    savage1987 Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
    Yep the sticking cluster is in a L3 conversion I've done already.

    Also converted the other car to L3, let me know if you have any idea how to get a L3 tacho working in 4cyl mode so it reads correctly for an LS1, or how to get inst fuel readouts correct for the LS1 (they can be adjusted accurately to exactly half of true readings I think but that's as close as I have gotten)
     
  15. Lazyr8

    Lazyr8 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    armadale Perth, Australia
    Members Ride:
    VYII R8 CLUBSPORT VE SS v2 monaro hsv avalanche 46
    ...
    Sent from my {HTC HD7} using Board Express
     
  16. Stretchomatic

    Stretchomatic Member

    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Ardlethan, NSW
    Members Ride:
    86 VL Berlina M5
    Anyone have an issue with their VL odo where the trip stops working intermittently but if you carefully flick the reset stalk it sometimes starts back up?
     
  17. capitalgainz

    capitalgainz Banned

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    adelaide
    Members Ride:
    vt s2 berlina gen3
    I have a vt series 2 ls1 changed the dash cluster over now I have too many ka, how can I change this?
     
  18. duran2721

    duran2721 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Members Ride:
    vs v8 ute/vt gen3
    i have a vs clubsport and i can only read some of the numbers for kilomerters the two first numbers are missing
    and help on a fix
     
  19. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    446
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 470rwhp
    The kilometers are stored in the cluster so when you fit the cluster from another car you get their odometer reading.

    That's why most people selling clusters say how many kilometers on the odometer.

    Can't change the reading with Holden's scan tool but aftermarket gurus may be able to do it.
     
  20. jamess51

    jamess51 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    Hi there. I have a vs commodore with a burnt out resistor right next to the voltage regulator. I was wondering if you knew the resistor colour code of this so i can replace it. Its completely burnt so can't make out the colours.
    Thanks in advance
     

Share This Page