Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Auto Lights Default on startup?

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by ascottaudio, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. ascottaudio

    ascottaudio AscottAudio

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V8
    After checking a couple of times.. it seems that the "Auto" setting for the lights is the "default" on start up for my car..ie if I turn "auto" off...stop the car..when I start the car again.. it's (auto) back on again without doing anything to the light switch (if its dark enough that the lights activate)
    Seems a bit odd to me as I would prefer to have it off at all times and select manualy..guess its handy..just wanted to make sure other cars are the same and that I am not missing anything.
     
  2. PhantomVE

    PhantomVE Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Members Ride:
    HSV e2 Clubsport R8
    Yeah thats the same across the range. I think its some sort of safety feature.
     
  3. MickVE

    MickVE Red... It goes faster!

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    09 MY10 SS
    If you want to turn the lights off once the car is started you just have to flick the headlight switch to the left where the O is. Then if the car senses the light should be on it wont turn them on.
    Like you say though after you turn off the ignition and restart the car they will default to auto again.
     
  4. davey g-force

    davey g-force I'm a sceptic...

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    "...the winner is..."
    Members Ride:
    02 RX7 S8 Spirit R 13B TT & 2013 Audi A3 1.8T DSG7
    I'm with you. This "feature" pisses me off as well :bang:

    I'd be keen to find out if there's any way around it. Perhaps it's something thats programmable with the Tech2?
     
  5. Benboy

    Benboy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hill River, SA
    Members Ride:
    2007 SVZ Wagon
    Sounds like an ex Telstra vehicle. A fix has been discussed on this forum. Do a search.
     
  6. MickVE

    MickVE Red... It goes faster!

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    09 MY10 SS
    Benboy, this is different than the Telstra lights on all the time stuff. Holden have changed the design of the light switch in the VE's that AUTO is the default setting, rather than in VT-VZ were you have Off, parkers, low beam then auto on the light dial.

    The only way I would guess to diable this would be to have the Auto function totally disabled through tech2 like davey g-force said.
     
  7. davey g-force

    davey g-force I'm a sceptic...

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    "...the winner is..."
    Members Ride:
    02 RX7 S8 Spirit R 13B TT & 2013 Audi A3 1.8T DSG7
    I want to find out if its do-able by someone with a Tech2 OTHER than a Holden Dealer.

    The guy at Holden looked at me like I had two heads when I asked if they could disable the seatbelt chime, so its unlikely they'll know how to / want to disable the auto headlights for me.

    I'll try at my next service but I don't like my chances...
     
  8. Aggro_VE

    Aggro_VE The Overseer

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Lake Macquarie
    Members Ride:
    A lazy VE
    Davey, a trip to see phreddy will fix it for ya ;) . The auto lights are just that "auto" after a few mins of driving the lights turn off provided its a clear day, the sensor senses the ambient light and turns on or off accordingly. BUT I CBF waiting so I turn them off myself. I do agree with yas on having a manual option. :)
     
  9. davey g-force

    davey g-force I'm a sceptic...

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    "...the winner is..."
    Members Ride:
    02 RX7 S8 Spirit R 13B TT & 2013 Audi A3 1.8T DSG7
    Yeah? That's awesome news. How do you know? Have you had it done?
     
  10. Aggro_VE

    Aggro_VE The Overseer

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Lake Macquarie
    Members Ride:
    A lazy VE
    Davey, no I haven't seen him yet. It's a fact he has one ;)
     
  11. davey g-force

    davey g-force I'm a sceptic...

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    "...the winner is..."
    Members Ride:
    02 RX7 S8 Spirit R 13B TT & 2013 Audi A3 1.8T DSG7
    I know Phreddy's got a Tech2, I just thought you may have been speaking from experience.
    No matter, I'll give him a call. Thanks :thumbsup:
     
  12. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    Pardon me, but what is the issue with having the lights come on automatically at startup? Presumably if it's approaching darkness, and the lights turn on, that's a good thing.

    At least, I find it useful.

    Hoping someone can fill me in.

    Have a wonderful day.

    Warmest Regards,
    Tommo82.
     
  13. BOY1236

    BOY1236 Crazy dude in a V8

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    Members Ride:
    VE SS (4-speed auto)
    +1 to tommo82 , I see no problem with them too

    but giving you a choice in the menu is not gonna kill anyone.

    and if they can make it more accurate... cuz I have it turn it self on on cloudy days, or in sunrise\ fall time ...

    I wonder how the sensor on a Merc. or a BMW will work ..?
     
  14. davey g-force

    davey g-force I'm a sceptic...

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    "...the winner is..."
    Members Ride:
    02 RX7 S8 Spirit R 13B TT & 2013 Audi A3 1.8T DSG7
    1. I don't like starting the car with the headlights on - that's gotta be a big drain on the battery

    2. The light sensor is far too sensitive, the auto lights come on even when not required

    3. Most importantly, I just want to be able to control when to turn the lights on myself, without the bcm taking over.

    Sure, have auto headlights, but an option for a manual default is also required.
     
  15. MickVE

    MickVE Red... It goes faster!

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    09 MY10 SS
    I agree Tommo82 but like Davey said he wants to have control over the lights which I understand.

    I think the Holden auto headlights are no where near as sensitive as Toyota or Honda for example, I see Aurion's and Accord's lights go on and off all the time when the pass under a bridge, or even a group of large road signs where my Commodore's lights have never gone on under a bridge unless im stopped under it for a while.
     
  16. Hunter SS

    Hunter SS Growing Old Disgracefully

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Upper Hunter Valley NSW
    Members Ride:
    2006 VE SS
    +2 :thumbsup: I don't see the issue with them personally.
     
  17. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    I do agree though - the light sensor can be a bit funny.

    It also appears that the windscreen wipers are somehow linked to the lights. For example, when a shower arrives, the wipers fire up automatically and if they are on for a while, the lights come on. Good safety measure I think.

    When my car was new, the light sensor was very sensitive. Ever since they "did a software upgrade" it appears to be less sensitive. For example, in the tunnel it doesn't come on for at least 1 minute.
     
  18. Supe

    Supe Supe

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Rural NSW
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais 6.0
    At first I hated the auto lights on my Calais but the dealer changed a setting for me a long time ago to make them come on only under darker conditions. Now they are perfect, they never come on when you don't want them too and I especially like the little touch of how they come on with the wipers, assuming bad weather.

    But, on the other hand, my Lexus has auto headlights which luckilly can be turned off because the light sensor on it is stupidly sensitive. I've been meaning to get it adjusted too but always forget to ask the dealer.
     
  19. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    Interesting. I was told by the dealer, Holden and HSV that the sensitivity couldn't be adjusted.
     
  20. Supe

    Supe Supe

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Rural NSW
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais 6.0
    It was done as part of one of the early software upgrades. I think you're right, it can't be changed as a setting, but in the overall software update it was adjusted. It was noticeable straight away though and was perfect from then on.
    Now if the battery would just stop going flat... ;-)
     

Share This Page