Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

auto shifter

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by gungazza, Oct 31, 2018.

  1. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    just started to have a problem starting car in park just a click if i put it in nutral it will start is there a nutral sayfty switch on the trans that may have come loose
     
  2. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    seems to have come good ??? would not start in park or nutral
     
  3. chris knight

    chris knight New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Location:
    australia
    Members Ride:
    ve sv6
    steering lock??
     
  4. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    went ok for a week come saturday no start havent had a good look at it yet have to resurch it a bit
     
  5. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    went out to day. and it started turned it off, no start where is the nutrul safety switch located
     
  6. chris knight

    chris knight New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Location:
    australia
    Members Ride:
    ve sv6
    i wouldn't really know but would say around the shifter or gearbox? haha
     
  7. rambunctious

    rambunctious Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Mooloolaba
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon
    I would be thinking more a column switch/rod related issue.
    Having said that, I was having the same dreaded single click so I charged the battery which at first seemed to help, but it has started doing it again.
    If your's is like mine where I have to remove the key and reinsert after each start attempt, then maybe, just maybe, it could be a barrel/key issue.
     
  8. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    yes i looked at the rod adjustment, in the book but idont think its that, as i said, it started yesterday, after tuning it off would not start, will have to jack it up, and have a look ,hopefully loose plug lol is there a switch under the shifter
     
  9. 99notout

    99notout Active Member

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VZ Equip Wagon
    Here is the neutral start switch if you have the 4 speed 4L60E
     

    Attached Files:

  10. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    thanks for the file thats what i needed
     
  11. gungazza

    gungazza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    west suburbs
    Members Ride:
    executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
    well turned out to be starter motor i just changed that seems to be all good now ff
     

Share This Page