Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Bad Mechanic

waffles666

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Executive II v6 3.8L
Hi this is a bit off topic for this forum but I need some advice to help out my brother. He has a nissan 180sx and he blew the turbo not long ago he ended up taking it to ultra tune and getting a new one for $1800 he has had it for a week and took it to go get tuned and due to something to do with the angle the ultra tune guys put the turbo in ment that the gage wasn't working properly and they had it waaaaaaay to high, like 30psi. he now has blown a piston ring and a couple more a due to go with a total estimated bill of around $2000.

The problem is he's kinda a little wussy and doesn't want to go yell at them (my recommendation) I work in retail communications and we have the telecommunication ombudsman to sort out complaints like this is there something similar he can contact regarding the work done on his car.

p.s I do have a Holden VS so this post isn't completely random.

customvt

Reaction score
Members Ride
4.2 vt executive
a friend of mine had the same problem with ultra tune with his twin turbo soarer rip off pricks

nathg

Reaction score
Members Ride
MX83
Out of curiousity, why would he go to such a general service mechanic to do performance work?

waffles666

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Executive II v6 3.8L
mechanic

He is an apprentice butcher and when the turbo went that was the closest place plus he works 7 days a week so its a little hard to organise anything else. But yes, in hindsight epicly bad decision.

andyman

The Only 6sp VZ Wagon
Reaction score
Members Ride
2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450
contact the mta (motor traders assoc.) basically the same as the telecom ambudsmen

TI3VOM

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Commodore