Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

ballast resistor

Discussion in 'Electrical Wiring / Questions' started by Dirty Salamander, Nov 12, 2017.

  1. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    Do 1972 holden HQs have ballast resistors in them, I want to install a DSM distributor and electric dizzies don't like resistors.

    Also, do early commodores have ballast resistors? As they were mostly electric ignition engine
     
  2. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
    Vb commodore with points had a resistance wire the same as hq-hz did, the positive going to the coil is a resistance wire the one with do not cut printed on the insulation
     
  3. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    And when installing a electric distributor do I need to get rid of that wire
     
  4. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
    some blokes do lazy blokes like me use the resistance wire to turn on a relay and get a new feed from the battery or starter motor I've heard of a latching issue but if you use a relay with a diode across the coil which most relays have it doesn't happen[​IMG]
     
  5. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    That looks complicated, carny I just replace the resistor wire with a normal one?
     
  6. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    Actually did more research seems easy, but there are so many types of relays to choose, do I get a 12dc 40amp? And use 12ga wire for the battery and ground
     
  7. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
    a 30 amp bosch relay will cut it think about it like this the coil uses around 8 amps running allow for 10 amps with an in rush of 20 for short periods a 30 amp bosch relay is plenty 40 should be overkill the cars i put 30 amp bosch relays on the relay lasted longer then the car 10 years later
     
  8. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    But for the wire, where do I get it. I looked at super cheap, repco and autobarn but they only have thin speaker wire or thick battery wires(200amp), maybe I looked at the wrong stuff, if they sell the correct wire can you give me a link to it also should I step it up to 10ga or 12ga is plenty
     
  9. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
  10. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
  11. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    I didn't work well, for some reason it only sends 7-9 volts, is there a way to do it without a relay, also with the relay the engine always stayed on and had to turn it off by the switch.
     
  12. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
    did you use a rely with a diode on the coil Ive never had to add a diode to the alternator wire to stop the rely latching on its getting powered via the alternator charge wire . the 7-9 is enough to hold the relay coil in the distributor is getting 12 volts via the new supply you added? Ive mostly done this on h series holdens the handbrake light was enough load to drop the relay out when i used headlight relays other wise cut the resistance wire out of the loom and replace it with a bit of cooper wire
    http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/Product/Tridon-Mini-Relay-30-Amp-4-Pin/293180
    not the relay I would of brought as a rule of thumb all ways use a relay with a diode across the coil on cars an electronics bloke told me that.
     
  13. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    The think is the dizzy was still only getting 7-9v, I did 85 to ground, 86 old coil wire(yellow), 30 battery and 87 to the coil.
     
  14. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    Also what do you mean cut out the resistor wire, that's the oink one right? And isn't that connected to the ignition switch? How will I replace the whole thing?
     
  15. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
    with it ruining are you seeing 12 volt or more between coil positive and negative battery terminal?
    Is a job from hell as its in the wiring loom the resistance wire hence why Ive never bothered to try and change it find it at the bulk connector under the dash above the steering wheel somewhere cut the resistance wire off the and join a bit of copper wire to it and get that to the distributor is what some blokes told me to do .
    To prove the alternator charge light is causing the relay to latch on with the key off pull the charge light wire off the alternator if the handbrake light doesn't stop it put a diode in that wire
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2017
  16. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    Yea when running, only got 7-9 volts actually was 6-8
     
  17. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
    you've wired the relay wrong is my guess is it hq as from your other thread I fucked a up and thought it was vb join the 2 wires together will do it and piss off the relay the hq sends 12volt on start up via the yellow wire your talking about in the other thread to the coil when it starts the run wire is the resistance wire hz and commodore only had one wire from memory
     
  18. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto
    You have confused me now, yes its a 82 HQ, so what Di I need to do?
     
  19. the_boozer

    the_boozer no more VK

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    morwell
    Members Ride:
    Prado
  20. Dirty Salamander

    Dirty Salamander Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1972 Holden HQ UTE red 202 auto

Share This Page