Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Jake Wilson

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SS Sedan
Hey guys,

I’m fresh to the group and forum here, having just bought my first decent car. VF SS Auto Sedan with just under 90k on the clock.

Looking for some advice on some baseline/starting modifications that I could get done to make it more of a sleeper. Also if anyone knows of a good place to get it done that’d be great. Let me know what a reasonable budget is too, but I know I have a good $5k ready already.

I I’ve been saving for a few years to get into the world of cars and Motorsport and would love any good advice and input I can get. Much appreciated

Ron Burgundy

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF II SS
For 5k you could get extractors & exhaust + OTR cai and tune. This would make a significant difference in how car sounds, feels and drives...

Jake Wilson

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SS Sedan
Thanks for the tips mate. Sounds like an awesome place to start. Much appreciated .

Out of interest, where would you rate upgrades to ECU, suspension, brakes, exhausts etc. relative to each other?

426Cuda

SUBLIME!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Redline Sedan - A6 Spitfire MSE...
Is it an L77 or LS3?
Assuming it's a non Redline VF with an L77, I'd make it stop, with front and rear Brembos etc first. Then source a cheap second hand exhaist system and VF2 bi-modal mufflers. The latter to avoid an expensive canary. Then a good dyno or maybe mail order tune. It'll brake well, sound nice and have somewhere around 260wkw.

Jake Wilson

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SS Sedan
Is it an L77 or LS3?