Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Battery cut relay (any auto elec's out there?)

_R_J_K_

Reaction score
Members Ride
Zenki S14
Hi all,

Basically what's happening at the moment is that I have a car with some battery drain. It destroys batteries, to the point where they won't create a circuit when you put them on a charger (maybe my charger isn't powerful enough or something).

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody has put a relay or similar in that completely cuts the battery automatically when the car is shut off, and to connect the battery you have to push a button on the dash. I want this to be automatic so that it can't be forgotten to be turned off by whoever is driving.

I've been trying to find some kind of diagram for the last couple of days, but I'm not good with circuitry so I don't know what the setup is called. The car is carbied so there's no computer to be harmed. I'd find the leak with my multimeter, but I have to find a new 10 mA fuse, and I'd rather just do this to prevent any problems down the track.

Nut Kracker

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VT SS 304ci (195i)
Hi,
Give me a little time and I will have a isolation diagram for you.
MAYBE !!!!!!

Last edited:

IBLOWN

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS V6 TT/'13 VF Senator/'11 WM CapriceV/Hayabusa
You do realize if you do that, it will run poo for about 80 kays each time you turn the key off until the ecu re-calibrates?

Why not just put a quick connector on a trickle charger so its easy to just plug in when you get home?

hakhawk

smooth moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
BMW E21 320i, E36 "318IS" coupe
or find the drain source and fix it

Nut Kracker

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VT SS 304ci (195i)