Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

battery negative to chassis, where the hell is it?

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Denno, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    I want to upgrade my negative to chassis wire, and thought the best way to do it would be to just add another wire from the negative to the chassis, and connect it to the same place that the stock wire is, but I can't for the life of me find where it is.. Does anyone know? Or, if I should use a different place, where has everyone else added the wire too? (photos too if possible)
    Please don't say "just find a bolt, sand back paint etc.", I know all that, I want to know exactly the positions that other people have done it, so that I know it works.

    Thanks
     
  2. Not_An_Abba_Fan

    Not_An_Abba_Fan Exhaust Guru

    Messages:
    13,813
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    Bunbury, WA
    Members Ride:
    Strange Rover
    It doesn't matter where you put it. Obviously the shorter and thicker the wire the better. The stock one is off the bell housing at the rear of the engine. That is the one from the engine to the body. From the battery, just go the shortest most direct route to the body.
     
  3. blky

    blky Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV Redline
    ive got a ring terminal on my cable and ive got it connected to the bolt that is used to fasten the plastic fusebox to the body of the car.

    CAR BODY - RING TERMINAL- WASHER - FUSE BOX - BOLT

    pretty short distance and pretty easy to do
     
  4. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    ohk cool blky, did you get it under the plastic of the fuse box? So therefore having the ring terminal in contact with the metal, or is it just the screw which goes through the ring terminal and connects to the metal?
     
  5. blky

    blky Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV Redline
    yeh its behind the fuse box, so the ring touches the metal body. its also nicely hidden too :D
     
  6. blky

    blky Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV Redline
    just make sure you get a ring terminal thats big enough for the bolt thingy to go through !
     
  7. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    Just upgraded my earthing :). Here's a photo of what I did. Is this pretty much the same as what you did blky?
    [​IMG]
    I'm thinking I'll add another 4gauge to the other screw too, should be more than enough earthing upgrading for my system :).
     
  8. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    There is an earth right behind the battery isn't there?

    Pull the battery out and take a look at the inside guard.
     
  9. SMIT

    SMIT Donating Member

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT C2R TURBO 5SP + CRUNCH VE SSV 6SP
    Do you think 0 gauge would fit there?
     
  10. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    You mean an earth that's already connected? Or an earthing point? I don't think there is... I've tried following the wire from the negative multiple times, and it's always gone down and then under the battery towards the radiator, then joining into the big wiring loom, to where I don't know lol. But I've got lots of 4gauge left over, which was an accident, but I reckon I'll make connections to as many places as possible :).
     
  11. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    I've never actually held 0gauge before, so I don't know it's physical size in comparison, but the 4 gauge fit in the pretty nice, it was super tight, so it's possible, but like I said, I have no idea of 0gauge's physical size. The main thing would be could the 0gauge bend that much to get back to the negative, although you could always just make the length of wire a bit longer so that it would eventually bend around.
     
  12. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    If you follow the earth when it connects to the main loom it splits off and part goes back to the fuse box and from there connects to the chassis (there is a plug bolted to the chassis/inside guard).

    When I did the install in my ex gf's VT thats where I earthed hers. You only need one good connection. The 4ga should be fine. But don't forget the alternator earth and the engine to chassis earth.
     
  13. blky

    blky Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV Redline

    yeh man thats exactly what i did!, once the fusebox cover goes on, it is hidden quite nicely :) i like it haha
     
  14. bpottz

    bpottz Whipped By SAPOL

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    South Oz
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina
    sorry.. horrid question, but dont really know much about this topic yet.

    what would be the main purpose behind upgrading your earth? this just for when your running a powerful amp or?

    i know i would prob find the answer if i searched, but really to be honest cant be bothered, its late and im tired..

    cheers in advance
     
  15. blky

    blky Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV Redline
    better for your alternator and also if you get headlight dimming on big bass hits, this will reduce it/get rid of it
     
  16. Not_An_Abba_Fan

    Not_An_Abba_Fan Exhaust Guru

    Messages:
    13,813
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    Bunbury, WA
    Members Ride:
    Strange Rover
    Using a 2 Farad capacitor will help with that too.

    As said it takes the load off the alternator as you will lose voltage as the current has to travel a longer distance to find an earth. Also the smaller the gauge wire the hotter and more resistance it has.
     
  17. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    Yeah I know about these, well I've heard about them, but I have no idea how to go about doing them. Where do I need to connect the wire to on the alternator and the engine?
    I would also like to upgrade the connection between my alternator and my battery positive, but I think that isn't too bad, I just add a wire to this bolt in the photo directly to my positive yeah?
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page