Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Belt Squeal at and above 2500 rpm?

Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Yagoona
Members Ride
Vy Berlina
Hello, iv got a 2003 Vy berlina only has 68,000 on the clock i just bought it recently. the last log book service was at 45k. once i bought it i serviced it ( didnt do plugs or leads) i have also installed the Big bore 69mm throttle body and the Type S CAI kit from FIT. runs sweet, altho lately i have noticed a bit of a squeal in the drive belt. and only when the rpm goes to or above 2500rpm. now next weekend i will change the Belt it may fix it altho am considering buying GATES MICRO-V BELT & PULLEY KIT. hope to fix it with just a belt tho. and one other thing. since adding the mods the gears sometimes stick at about 4500 rpm. and a bloke from SAS said it is because the air/petrol ratio is out now so it will need a tune and wants to charge me 1200 for that. what are your thoughts Thanks PPl
 

lukeyVY

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
W.A
Members Ride
2004 VY Executive 2
What kind of tune? dyno? my exec II seems to take its time when you max out 2nd gear and change into 3rd. Got quoted 1600 the other week for a dyno tune.. not really worth it if your not gonna force feed it or anything.
 
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Yagoona
Members Ride
Vy Berlina
i think it was for a dyno yeah. something about re-programing the ECU or something. i dont know, is there any other cheaper way to tune up the air-to- fuel ratio?
 

SIG-054

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
793
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
Y-Series Senator Signature
try putting a bit of talc powder on the belt to stop the squeel.
 
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Yagoona
Members Ride
Vy Berlina
i used silicone sprey that i Obtained from work and it has stoped for now. but still want to know about the tune up i need do you guys think its just a dyno ill need to do to make it run smoother.?
 

TMM

OEM+
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
877
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Location
VIC
Members Ride
VY Berlina S2
sounds like BS to me. Try resetting the ECU (unplug the battery for an hour).
 
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Yagoona
Members Ride
Vy Berlina
sweet as man ill give it a go and let you know how i go THANKS heaps
 
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Yagoona
Members Ride
Vy Berlina
it still runs funny but i guess ill have to live with it still goes hard may end up gettin a tune one day
 
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Yagoona
Members Ride
Vy Berlina
A custom program on a vy v6 is $1200 and will fix your shifting problems.
The reason for your problems is the larger throttle body. They are good for
making more power but must have the ecu remapped to suit as the computer
gets mixed messages from the tps and the maf. The expected figures and the
actual figures don't line up. We can get around this with a custom program.

this was a reply i got from SAS auto services. anyone do it Much cheaper or is that about right??
 
Top