Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VF] Blackvue DR650GE-2CH Dash Cam Install

Discussion in 'Holden Commodore How-To's' started by dgp, Jan 2, 2017.

  1. tommy_z

    tommy_z Active Member

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VFII Director
    I just finished the install - took 4 hours but was really happy with the results. Thank you dgp for your help and photos as they were a great guide as to what to do.

    A few differences with my installation method:
    1. I have used the earth in the DOC connector for my power magic pro rather than finding a bolt, as I couldn’t see a small enough sized bolt in the vicinity! (I must be blind because others haven’t had this issue!) Same procedure applies - I cut off the ‘C’ on the existing wiring and replaced it with another 2.8mm female spade from Jaycar, then wrapped it with heat shrink.

    2. I mounted the Narva fuse box on the side console where it has the no airbag sticker. I figured that should the fuses fail or blow one day, I wouldn’t want to undo all of those bolts just to replace the fuse (although I would have to anyway if the fuses kept blowing). A trim tool makes the removal easier.

    3. I stowed all the excess wire for the rear camera down the C pillar - you can push it as a bundle down the pillar and away & behind from that green curtain airbag.

    4. My power magic pro is mounted in the glove box but I did not drill a hole - using an existing hole where the horizontal trim clips in, the wires can feed through that hole and curve into the glove box to the power magic pro, and it won’t get crushed or prevent the box door from closing.

    5. Feeding the wire down the A pillars weren’t as hard as first thought... just had to be careful about the airbag and wires by tucking the wiring behind it.

    Most of my time was spent undoing the bolt, feeding that wire upwards through the hole to the A pillar, and learning how to crimp (didn’t make it any easier by using all brass female clips from Jaycar!!). It’s a very worthwhile exercise! :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
    Philmecrackun likes this.
  2. tommy_z

    tommy_z Active Member

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VFII Director
    You can mount the camera close to the centre (underneath the brake light) but slightly off centre to account for the position of the lens.

    Tucking the rear camera’s wire along side of the headliner just about the doors was not difficult with the trim tool. It was far more difficult to feed the power to the front camera up the A pillar as the gap is small!

    I wrapped my wire with cloth tape from Bunnings where it may ‘rock’ around in the cavity, otherwise I used cable wraps also from Bunnings. Cable clips were $1.90 and the cloth tape was $5.
     
    Philmecrackun likes this.
  3. Crack07

    Crack07 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    17 GTSR
    Awesome write up. How did you remove the plastic trim around the front collision camera to file the hole
     
  4. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    You grab both sides of the trim, squeeze inward and pull toward the front of the car. I tried to find a diagram but can't seem to find it.
     
    lmoengnr likes this.
  5. Crack07

    Crack07 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    17 GTSR
    Thanks for that,yeah came off easy.
    Installed the camera over the weekend using the method described and it was easy as only thing I did different was run the rear camera lead through the roof by removing both interior lights and running a trace wire through to the rear window and then just pulled the cable through.
     
  6. Evan1

    Evan1 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Location:
    Doreen, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    WN Caprice
    Thanks heaps DGP, I just installed a dash cam in my WN Caprice today. I followed your awesome steps and had it done in under an hour, works perfect, I owe you a beer mate, cheers.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  7. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    Good to hear, you are welcome.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  8. Poletheus

    Poletheus New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Location:
    Chatswood, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2017 HSV Clubsport R8 LSA Tourer - Build No.002
    Hi dgp.

    Quick question regarding the retain accessory power that you connected to.

    I am also going to use the same plug . I've check out which pins are for ACC PWR, BATT PWR and Earth. Do you know what fuse relates to this plug and if it is located in the back (Wagon) or in the engine bay?

    Kind regards,
    Carl
     
  9. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    Carl, I can’t quite remember, but think the accessory power is F29 in the boot (sedan), and the constant power coms from the right hand side of the dash ( there are another group of fuses behind the panel that faces the door on the end of the dash). Best check with a multi though, as not certain anymore.

    See here https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/doc-fuse-location.268922/

    And here https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/vf-commodore-doc-connector.227006/
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
  10. VF_CalaisV

    VF_CalaisV New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF CalaisV L77
    Hi, thanks for the write up!
    I'm going to install a Mini 0906 with a hard wire park mode power box using your tips.
    In interests of making it as easy as possible do you think you could just skip the fuse install. Are there other factory fuses that could be replaced if a short happens? Or is the 12+ batt unfused?
     

Share This Page