Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Blaupunkt VY/VZ Removal Tool

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by Torquative, Aug 19, 2005.

  1. nightflyer00

    nightflyer00 Guest

    Blaupunkt VZ Info?

    Hi,


    does anyone have any info on the unit they put in the VZ? I want to add a couple of amps and better speakers but I can't find any info on the orginal unit. Maybe someone has a link or even just a model number would be a start. I'm kinda hoping that there may be some RCA outs on the back but i'm not holding my breath on that one. Thanks.
     
  2. SV6

    SV6 New Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Melb
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6 A5
    How'd you go Goofball? Did you manage to get the single disc out and the 6 stacker in? I have been wanting to do this in mine for a while... Couple of Q's?

    - Any troubles with putting the 6 stacker in? Does eveything worth correctly - including the steering wheel controls?

    - Where did you source your 6 stacker from?

    PM me if you need to... Thanks.
     
  3. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    ok here we go :drink:

    * After many hours not being able to remove the single disc, I give up and go to a local radio installation place and they pop it out for me in the car park

    * put the 6 disc in. Rejects the PIN number. Ask the original owner, he checks, correct PIN supplied.

    * Try to ring various holden dealerships to confirm that this is the correct PIN, they all knock me back as they need to see the car

    * I then visit 3 different dealerships on 3 different sides of Sydneys CBD with proof of ownership (a written letter from the original owner that includes the radios part number, serial number, his VIN number and phone number) they still knock me back because they cant understand what someone would be doing with a "6 stacker just lying about", because "they need to see the original owners car to prove he took the radio out to install a sat nav / dvd system" and because they "cant check the PIN of a radio thats not fitted into a car due to theft issues".

    * I then get told the BCM needs to be updated with the new PIN as the car is rejecting the PIN, no the radio. I wait a few weeks till its time for the first 3000 K service. So I ask Holden to program it while its there (this is another dealership I might add)

    They spend an hour trying to do it, the BCM got updated ok for no reason, but it didnt fix the problem. :whistling They were nice enough not to charge me for the time or the download (put it under warranty some how) but since Tuesday its been sitting on the passenger floor while I think what to do with it because its an expensive paper weight at the moment.

    Holden told me that apparently theres a compatibility issue with VY to VZ radios and although they look the same their designed not to be compatible with the other model, but they gave it a shot anyway in the odd chance it would work. I wish I'd been told this before I brought the darn thing!
     
  4. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    well that was then and this was now!

    Theres hope

    On my way home I stopped into a dealership I havent yet annoyed with the whole radio situation. I know the guys well because I buy heaps of parts from them.

    I spoke to the parts manager who decided after a quick quiz and chat that it has been brought from a legit sale, and they checked the PIN for me.

    The VIN number I had is correct, comes up registered to the bloke I brought the radio from, comes up as the car he described in his letter of ownership, but comes up with a different radios PIN and serial number! :whistling

    So tomorrow their going to have to send away to Blaupunkt my serial number to get the PIN for my radio.

    But how this can happen beats me? The guy swears black and blue thats the PIN that came with his car, yet Holdens system says otherwise.

    The theorys been thrown in the air that alot of VY Calais / Berlina / SS with 6 disc had a software fault and many radios were replaced under warranty, but the bloke reckons he knows nothing about his radio ever being changed (even then Holden would have updated their system to show the new serial and pin numbers)

    So I'll wait to see what PIN Blaupunkt can find for my radio. In a way I hope its another number because the 2 PINs ive got dont work, but in a way I hope its not because it means something dodgeys going on (but I really would like the right number though) :yeah:

    I'll keep you guys updated :wave:
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. eshe

    eshe Guest

    Use Thicker Wire

    Use a thick coat hanger wire
    I made one as described above and presto it took me about 7 seconds to pull it out
    Thanks guys
     
  6. mmmdonuts

    mmmdonuts New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VZ Equipe 05
    Removing the head unit

    Easy as 123... After several failed attempts i tried using thicker coat hanger wire and my unit came out easily. Try inserting the wire until you feel/sound like a latch or pin being moved out the way. Start with one end and then bend other into position. Once all four are inserted and she all looks square bend wire to doors whilst pulling towards you. I didn't need to be forcfull. If it dosn't slide out then the wire isn't inserted correctly. Hope this helps some 1.

    :wave:
     
  7. DavoTheGreat

    DavoTheGreat New Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Z Series ClubSport
    Mine was a total nightmare to get out - took me 45 minutes and a lot of swearing and carrying on like a big baby :p Eventually used 2 coat hangers PLUS wedged a couple of small screwdrivers (one on each side) to get enough bite to slide the thing out. I know I'm not exactly the king of car audio installs but I'd pay to see someone get my old head unit out in 5 seconds. You need a lot of pressure to get it out because of how it's connected to the sockets in the back - if they were on a floating harness it'd be a lot easier. Lucky I didn't scratch anything in the process.
     
  8. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,094
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    I have a Pontiac GTO to do in the next couple of weeks.....I will make a quick movie for you and trust me...it will be quick :p
     
  9. DavoTheGreat

    DavoTheGreat New Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Z Series ClubSport
    Where'd you get your magical quickremove coathanger from? Did it grow in the secret garden with the 5 leaf clovers? ;-)

    I may have only taken a minute to do it if I had of wedged screwdrivers down the sides to start with instead of trying for ages with my not so magical coathangers.

    I still think it's a stupid idea, and if they are normally that easy to remove then not exactly a secure system - 10 seconds to remove a head unit with no damage to donor car, ring your cousin's mate's brother who works at Holden to get the security code and you just acquired a free head unit for less than half the hassle you'd normally have to go through.
     
  10. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,094
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    well, the unit can only be used in the same model commodore. So, if you have a need for one....you probably already have on.
     
  11. Aggro_VE

    Aggro_VE The Overseer

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Lake Macquarie
    Members Ride:
    A lazy VE
    I'm very curious at how it turned out, what's the goss goofball??
     
  12. kmbattle

    kmbattle New Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Sorry to drag this up.
    I feel like im gettin the clips and im leavering out, but this thing just wont budge.
    How far in are the clips? How much force is required? I can get the whole unit to wriggle about in the dash but it just wont come out. )-:
     
  13. naf33n

    naf33n go

    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    The Shire
    Members Ride:
    Supercharged VU SS
    i just had a go at mine i couldnt get it with a normal metal coat hanger but it came straight out wit a plastic coated metal one
     
  14. Phreddy

    Phreddy Bye SV6 - still love you

    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    W-Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VS-II Statey-8
    Hey Guys.

    I posted about this a little while ago, and now I introduce my new and improved version!! ;)

    I used thicker wire than the normal coat hangers. This stuff is almost 3mm thick.

    After bending and trimming, I filed a little notch into each of the "prongs". I included a couple of pics of the head unit IN the cradle (but removed from the dash) which shows a little clearer what we're dealing with. The spring clips which lock the unit into the cradle have a little "tang" pressed into them, and the notches in the prongs engage firmly on this tang, which means when you pull back it pulls the unit out, and not just the wires! You don't even have to lever outwards before you pull back, the fact that the wire is thicker pushes the springs far enough in to disengage them from the slots in the cradle. (just have a look at the pics - they tell the story better than I can)


    Cheerz! :thumbsup:




    Cheerz!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. aperfectcircle

    aperfectcircle New Member

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Newman, WA
    Members Ride:
    Ute 04 VYIISS 5.7 M6
    Looks good Phreedy
     
  16. scotty23

    scotty23 Guest

    Thick coathanger wire did the trick :) normal coathanger got me no where..

    Can someone give me some pointers on how to remove the cage in which the headunit goes into. Do i need to pull the dash apart ??

    Have undone the screws but still appears clipped in and doesnt look like it would come out that slot where the headunit was ?

    cheers..
     
  17. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,094
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    remove the centre console and you will find two screws at the bottom. Remove the top of the console where some have gauge pods and then remove the trim around the HVAC and you will find some more screws. You may need to bend the cage a little as you remove it. But thats ok...it straightens out jsut fine :)
     
  18. BOGANV8

    BOGANV8 I gotta V8 whoot whoot

    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Armidale
    Members Ride:
    VX 02 SS LS1
    Sorry not to sure on what hvac means (sorry if i seem dumb)

    Plus also just went a tried mine pushed two clips in hard and then 2 sec later the radio popped out maybe beginners luck :unsure: :unsure: :unsure:
     
  19. StoneX

    StoneX New Member

    Messages:
    3,437
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    Hastings
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais-V 6.0L
    Heating, Ventilation, & Air Conditioning, maybe? Must be a yank abbreviation :p
     
  20. BOGANV8

    BOGANV8 I gotta V8 whoot whoot

    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Armidale
    Members Ride:
    VX 02 SS LS1
    ;)

    Cool they are a bit different over there :whistling :whistling :whistling ;) ;)
     

Share This Page