Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Box for RF T115D4

Joe Peeps

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
263
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim
Hello all,
Bought a Rockford T115D4 and will be building a box for it soon. i have been fumbling around in winisd and the Rockford rec ported have big group delay and gain peaks. im after real world experience with sizes and tuning. I'm thinking ~2.8-3cuft tuned to 30hz?? or sealed 2.25 as per Rockford rec. Sortof an SQL kinda vibe..

Qts: .501
Vas: 89L
Fs 28Hz

Cheers
 

garfa

Active Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
1,937
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Age
37
Location
SE Victoria
Members Ride
VY SS
i guess you mean an SPL vibe?
so you want max output over quality?
 

jds303

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
76
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
38
Members Ride
V6 VS EXEC S2
SQL, sound quality level, a combination of sq and spl.
 

garfa

Active Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
1,937
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Age
37
Location
SE Victoria
Members Ride
VY SS
haha ok.
well i dont really see the problem, build a temp box a bit larger than the reccom. box size and put bits of wood in it till you like the sound. the figure out the total volume of the pieces of wood and subtract that from the original box size.
yeah?
 

Joe Peeps

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
263
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim
Yep, Jds is correct. I was going to build the box ported, and then if i didnt like it fill it bricks or something and plug the hole, then i realised what a hassle it will be to make a ported box then not use the ports. I was hoping someone else had the same sub and could impart some experience thus saving me the time and effort... (some may call it being lazy) No substitute for doing the work i guess. Thanks for the input tho.
 

Joe Peeps

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
263
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim
I'm gonna bump this thread now that CAFO is on these forums, and he has extensive experience with the Rockford range:

T115D4 is currently in 2.24 net cubic foot sealed box. I'm generally happy with the output, but im looking for more. Just wanted your opinion on going ported. No-one could give an opinion from experience which im hoping you can. Rockford tune looks high... and the group delay sacrifices look considerable. Thanks mate appreciated

PS - please PM me the cost of a T212D2 and T1000 amp, as well as the cost of the 15 version... i MAY be buying in late Jan if it goes ahead. As usual i commit to nothing :)
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
450
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
KENMORE QUEENSLAND
Website
www.caraudiofactoryoutlet.com.au
Members Ride
VK BROCK Group "A"
Bump away!!

At least you have good taste.. or should that be EARS!!

Though not for long with that best!!

I have Two T212D4 in my setup and they are toooooooooo muuuuuuuccchhhh!!

for the the bladder that is!!

DONT NOT ENTER ON FULL BLADDER!!!!
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
450
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
KENMORE QUEENSLAND
Website
www.caraudiofactoryoutlet.com.au
Members Ride
VK BROCK Group "A"
I'm gonna bump this thread now that CAFO is on these forums, and he has extensive experience with the Rockford range:

T115D4 is currently in 2.24 net cubic foot sealed box. I'm generally happy with the output, but im looking for more. Just wanted your opinion on going ported. No-one could give an opinion from experience which im hoping you can. Rockford tune looks high... and the group delay sacrifices look considerable. Thanks mate appreciated

PS - please PM me the cost of a T212D2 and T1000 amp, as well as the cost of the 15 version... i MAY be buying in late Jan if it goes ahead. As usual i commit to nothing :)

Joey

The T212D2 is $699.00 about $700 saving over any other RF Dealer!!!
The T10001bd is $ 850.00 and the T20001bd is $1450.00

I would suggest the T20001bd so you have to opinion later of adding another T212D4 plus gives you a few wiring options.

Depend on what you are trying to do with the SQ or SPL with the Sub etc to where to tune it to.

Here is a bit of temptation on the T212D4... very nice looking sub... like the T115D4

T212D4-back.gif

T212D4-front.gif

Port Box from experience on these Power SUBS will give you more low HZ and hence more DEEP BASS, though if you are after just base I would suggest to go to a SVC not a DVC.

I prefer the DVC Power sub range and they can be tuned to DEEP PENERATING BASS... again depends what you are trying to accomplish.


As for the T115D4 - We found the best for the Vented Enclosure is the following to get the most out of the T115D4

and will make a big differenct over the 2.25cuft


Recommended Vented Volume Internal: -- 2.75 cu/ft - 77 litres
Recommended Number of Ports: -- 2
Recommended Diameter of each Port: -- 4" - 100mm
Recommended each Length of Port: -- 16" - 400mm


The 2.24 cuft is the Min size for your sub and the max would be 3.24 cuft

Though stick to the top and you will not be disappointed.



PS the T212D4 is a much prettier SUB!! lol.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
450
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
KENMORE QUEENSLAND
Website
www.caraudiofactoryoutlet.com.au
Members Ride
VK BROCK Group "A"
I'm gonna bump this thread now that CAFO is on these forums, and he has extensive experience with the Rockford range:

T115D4 is currently in 2.24 net cubic foot sealed box. I'm generally happy with the output, but im looking for more. Just wanted your opinion on going ported. No-one could give an opinion from experience which im hoping you can. Rockford tune looks high... and the group delay sacrifices look considerable. Thanks mate appreciated

PS - please PM me the cost of a T212D2 and T1000 amp, as well as the cost of the 15 version... i MAY be buying in late Jan if it goes ahead. As usual i commit to nothing :)

PS

If you still go the 2.24cuft which is out by .01cuft

should be 2.25cuft

you can vent it though you will need to extended the above ports by 4" to 20"

YES INSANE though ... TRUST ME!!!!
 
Top