Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Building 5L VP UTE

BROCK UTE

Reaction score
Members Ride
VP S ute 5.0
Hi all, I have a stock 5 Litre VP S ute with a 5 speed manual and I am getting ready to do a build up on the engine. So far I've replaced the suspension with new shocks, lower springs, adjustable panhard rod and new bushes throughout. I also have the stock catback with the mufflers replaced with straight pipes and a set of difilippo 4-1 long tube headers that haven't been installed yet. I think they have 1 3/4" primaries with 3" collectors.
It is time to touch the V8!
I have a rough list of things I would like to do going off research on the net and people I have spoken to who has modified earlier Holden V8's. This is my first time building a 5 litre so I thought I would try and get as much info as possible before I get going on it.
My goal is for the engine to become lively and wake right up. I want power in the mid to upper rev range and it needs to sound tough.
I would like to keep the budget around $5-7k so I can afford to miss the bits that aren't essential but can go a bit over if they are.
Flattop pistons or forged pistons
Shaved heads
Block decked
Engine gasket and rebuilt kit
Crane H304 cam package:
(Package Includes
1 Crane Camshaft
1 set of Crane Anti Pump Lifters
1 bottle Crane Super Lube Break In Concentrate
1 set Blue Racer Valve Springs
1 set Crane Retainers
1 set Crane Machined Valve Locks
1 Rollmaster Performance Timing SeT)

Intake manifold either carby style with 4 barrel throttle body or twin throttle body manifold
Dual 2.5" exhaust or single 3"
Dyno tune.

I plan on getting a new diff with a shorter final drive at some point in the future and possibly a light flywheel.
Let me know if I missed anything.
Do I need?:
Roller rockers, fuel pump, injectors?