Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] Cam Crank Voltage

Draimond

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
331
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VS V6 Executive
What Voltage should the Cam and Crank sensors be supplied?

Haltech have 12V up on their Buick/Ecotec info page.

Posts on here reference testing these sensors and seeing 5V.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20240320-141302.png
    Screenshot_20240320-141302.png
    411.9 KB · Views: 47
  • Screenshot_20240320-141319.png
    Screenshot_20240320-141319.png
    420.7 KB · Views: 44

Draimond

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
331
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VS V6 Executive
I'm going to assume it gets supplied 5V.

It wouldn't get a 12V power supply and then output a 5V signal to the PCM....... would it? Hahaha
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20240320_043310901.jpg
    PXL_20240320_043310901.jpg
    354.9 KB · Views: 37

Draimond

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
331
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VS V6 Executive
Just spoke to Haltech and the bloke I spoke to said that's exactly how the sensors work, they take a 12V input and output a 0-5V signal for the ECU.
Power from the fuse box in the engine bay can be unshielded, signal and signal ground wires should be shielded.

I still don't understand why a signal ground wire needs to be shielded when its shield gets spliced into the signal grounds at the ECU anyway.

I need aspirin...
 

Draimond

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
331
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VS V6 Executive
Would anybody be able to test the cam or crank sensor for me on their car?

Should be ground, power and 0 to 5 volt on the cam. Ground, power plus two sets of 0 to 5 volt on the crank.

I would assume you can test the by turning the ignition on and unplugging one of the sensors, then probing the connectors pins with a voltmeter.

The cam and crank sensors voltage input is shared, the same wire is spliced into a single output on the DFI module. So test whichever is easiest to get to for you.

Basically I just need to know if you're getting ground, 12 volt and 5 volt or ground and a bunch of 5 volt.

I think the only thing I can do at home would be to throw the DFI module on the bench with a battery and see if I can get it powered up out of the car as I've already chopped up my wiring harness and fuse box.
 

07GTS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
5,101
Reaction score
6,950
Points
113
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VEGTS BUILT BLOWN E85
top diagram here may help its VS - VY

 

07GTS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
5,101
Reaction score
6,950
Points
113
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VEGTS BUILT BLOWN E85
yea sounds like the battery 12-14v supply for it, is the reference wire 5v when sensor disconnected ? most of the time that can be a 5v from ecu and the sensor just needs power/earth and then it just pulls that 5v down to zero when it passes teeth
 

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
22,888
Reaction score
21,250
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
I think it's 12 volt in as the supply but the signal is 0-5volt out.
 

Draimond

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
331
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VS V6 Executive
yea sounds like the battery 12-14v supply for it, is the reference wire 5v when sensor disconnected ? most of the time that can be a 5v from ecu and the sensor just needs power/earth and then it just pulls that 5v down to zero when it passes teeth
I don't think it's 5v disconnected. I believe the sensors has a resistor that pulls the 12 volt down to 5....

I'm going to run with Haltech's advice that it takes 12 volt in. It's going to be a massive job if it's wrong, because my 12 volt is in the engine bay and my 5 volt supply is from the ECU and they need to be shielded wires.
 

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
22,888
Reaction score
21,250
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
The CAS is a hall effect sensor x2
 
Top