Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Can Someone Reccomend A Good Amp/Amps for This Set-Up?

TPH1995

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
25
Location
Young, NSW
Members Ride
2006 Holden Commodore SV6
Speakers

Front
2x 6.5" Pioneer 300w Max 45w Nominal Component Speakers

2x Pioneer 30mm Balanced Dome Tweeters (can't find wattage)

Back
2x 6.5" Pioneer 300w Max 45w Nominal Component Speakers

Trunk/Boot
2x 12" Pioneer 1300w Max 350 Watt Nominal Component Subwoofer
___________________________________
I will add that my headunit does claim to have a built in amp just incase that's important ill list its specs below

- Built-in Max 4*49W BTL Amplifier with RMS 4*29W (Vcc=14.4v,THD=10%); It can drive both 4Ω & 2Ω door speakers
 

Deuce

Super Stock
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
2,775
Reaction score
1,415
Points
113
Location
Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
Members Ride
'94 VR SS V8
I would go a small 4 channel amp to run all speakers off of. 300 or 350w range at a guess.

And a big sucker two channel amp for the subs. With a capacitor to help stabilise the supply. 1000w rms maybe.

I assume the head unit has 3x rca pair outputs?
 

shane_3800

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
2,487
Reaction score
838
Points
113
Age
32
Location
places
Members Ride
vr commo

Something like that for the front and rears.

And something like this for the subs run both in parallel or if they're dual coil run them series parallel.

 

shane_3800

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
2,487
Reaction score
838
Points
113
Age
32
Location
places
Members Ride
vr commo
Remember use the thickest wire you can fit into the amps. Run a big fuse up front with a spliter box.
For the earth don't just earth to the shell. Run a ground cable from the battery to a earth point on the shell with at least a 10mm bolt (bolt not hex head) then run all your amp grounds back to that ground point.
 

Bay 13

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
40
Reaction score
50
Points
18
Age
25
Location
Dandy
Members Ride
Rocket VT.
To do it right you need 2 amps, one 4 channel and one Monoblock. Look at the compact 4 channel amps you be able to fit it up front, GM-D1004 a good one at 400w.
You want a 1000-1200w mono for the 2 subs. Like was said get 4 gauge amp wire min, I'm running 2 gauge as I use it for a power in my boot to run 12v tools as well. Good luck.
 

TPH1995

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
25
Location
Young, NSW
Members Ride
2006 Holden Commodore SV6
To do it right you need 2 amps, one 4 channel and one Monoblock. Look at the compact 4 channel amps you be able to fit it up front, GM-D1004 a good one at 400w.
You want a 1000-1200w mono for the 2 subs. Like was said get 4 gauge amp wire min, I'm running 2 gauge as I use it for a power in my boot to run 12v tools as well. Good luck.
Mate, Thank You lol you would not believe how many people ive talked to over the last week to basically end up with exactly what you just reccomended even brought a gm-1004 i got here until i changed the speakers because the audio place said anything below A-Series in pioneer ate just space fillers and no better then stock my end result is

Front Speakers: 4 x Pioneer TS-A1670F (4ohm) (70w RMS).....Audio place told me

Front Amp: Pioneer GM-D8704 (100w RMS x 4 @ 4ohms)
__________________
Rear Subs 2 x Pioneer TS-A300D4 (4ohm) (500W Nom)

Pioneer GM-D8701 (MAX. WATTAGE (4 Ohm): 600 W X 1)

Wires ect ect i don't need i dont think as im getting it installed professionally i dont trust myself ill fry my electrics for sure lol so hope they can supply those as I have no clue what I need was quoted around $1,200 for the lot including a fascia change and headunit install

So in my head my 4 front speakers are receiving 100w RMS they need 70w RMS is that dangerous?

And if my mono does 600w at 4ohm over two subs thats 300w per sub (im sure im probably wrong i know you can wire parallel or something that's for the electrician lol) but if im right they need 500w and they are only getting 300w is that dangerous? Or can you go under/over?

Thanks for the reply
 

Bay 13

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
40
Reaction score
50
Points
18
Age
25
Location
Dandy
Members Ride
Rocket VT.
With the subs you can run both in a 2ohm set up for maximum performance given you 4ohms output.
 

Bay 13

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
40
Reaction score
50
Points
18
Age
25
Location
Dandy
Members Ride
Rocket VT.
My advise is get a few quotes, $1,200 wtf, I be going to get some Quotes, cables and fuses around $120 for both sets, not sure if your subs have the enclosure, 600 labour be reasonable.
Your head unit be around 50w so any amp will make a deafferents your not running huge wattage in speakers, the idea is to boost the sound without distorting the head unit amp. So 400w split it 4 ways is giving you double what your unit can give to each speaker, if you want to go loud then a bigger amp under the passenger set be better way to go. Total depends what your wanting, take it from me it will sound gr8 at first then your ears will want more as you go deaf so start small and gradually fark your hearing by changing to bigger stuff.. Lol.
 

harrop.senator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
1,470
Reaction score
392
Points
83
Age
28
Location
perth
Members Ride
vr senator 355, vu 5 speed l67
Older models but in new in box and I've always liked infinity.


 
Top