Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Car write off question

phatsix

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Calais
Im new to insurance side of things so dont have a clue whats going on.

After the storms in perth my car got quite a bit of hail damage. (bonnet, roof, boot and some other dings)

I got a quote just then from an insurance "preferred" repairer. He said due to the amount of cars in queue to be repaired, most insurance companies would rather call cars write offs.

Just wondering, if my car were to be a write off, do they repossess the car and sell it?

Also do you get a choice whether you want it repaired or written off?
Cheers

Full Spectrum

Bro it's a VW your Audi!
Reaction score
Website
www.news.com.au
Members Ride
Berlina V6
The roof would be the most expensive part of that repair. So if they see it cheaper to write it off over repairing it they will.

Not sure if you get a choice write off or repair. Also they will pay you market or agreed value and sell off the car for what ever they can get.

Tatiana

We should have sushi Carol
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
Equinox LTZ - runs on cocaine
As slick said, you will only get market value for the car unless you have it insured for agreed value. I doubt you get a choice to repair it if the Insurance Company wants to write it off. Only choice is to have buy the wreck back once they have paid you out.

Calaber

Nil Bastardo Carborundum
Reaction score
Members Ride
CG Captiva 5 Series 2
It would depend on your insurance company's policy. I had a car written off due to hail damage in the mid 90's. The bonnet, turret (it was a wagon) and the top surfaces of the front guards were pretty hammered.