Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Changing water pump VN/VP/VR

Morton

For external use only
Reaction score
Members Ride
Fairstar the Funship
-----------------------------------------------------
NOTE 1: For heaven's sakes, I'm not a qualified mechanic - so assume that everything I'm about to tell you is bollocks. I have NO idea what I just did today, and I honestly have no idea whether it worked. For now, I'll just assume that the car is running on pure goodwill.
If you don't have some basic mechanical experience, don't expect to do a perfect job of this based on what I write. I write nonsense, and therefore I'm assuming you're only reading this guide for the pictures. The following is NOT mechanical advice - it's all fiction!!! So follow it at your own risk!!!

NOTE 2: For those of you with the Series 1 engine, you will probably find you have a spacer between the water pump and the timing case cover. If this is the case, you should buy a SECOND water pump gasket to go with your pump/gasket you will purchase. See VN88's addition to this how-to further down the page.
On a more serious note, if there is anything I have missed, or which you feel should be added to this guide, please feel free to let me know :) Also, if you see something in those pictures which indicates that I have performed a fatal error which could lead to imminent engine faliure, PLEASE tell me!

Since my water pump was kind enough to fail last night, I thought I'd do my first of what will hopefully be many how-to-guides for simple overhauls you may need to do during the life of your early-model commodore :)