Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

circuit breaker or fuse?

bangers

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
1,416
Reaction score
17
Points
0
Age
45
Location
NSW
Members Ride
EL FALCON XR6
i'm wondering whats better? someone told me the circuit breaker is thermal so isn't any good in the engine bay where it gets hot. but the guy who gave it to me said he had it in the bay of his V8 and never had any trouble. i've put it in my 6 cyl VL near the battery which is on the intake side of the engine bay not the exhaust side. unlike a V8 which has exhaust on both sides. will it be all good? or should i swap to a fuse?
 

1991_Vn2nV

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
8,718
Reaction score
71
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Members Ride
91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
Yeah this has been covered many times before but my vote is for circuit breakers.

They dont need to be replaced each time something happens, they are hell convenient as you just flick a switch when you want to fiddle with your system instead of having to unhook the power supply etc. and of course they look better.
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
44
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
I'll stick to fuses as I trust them over circuit breakers.

For starters nothing should happen if your stereo is installed, so it shouldn't need resetting. If you want to fiddle with your system, you should disconnect ALL power to the car, not just the amp's power cable.

My Stinger fuse holder looks better than the circuit breakers i've seen :)
 

1991_Vn2nV

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
8,718
Reaction score
71
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Members Ride
91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
Why would you need to disconnect ALL power to the car rather than just flip the switch on the circuit breaker next to the battery?

I have one of these with the Voltmeter in it, looks better with the red Voltage readout and the blue LED light on though:

ap4842up7.jpg
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
44
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
Because you fuse holder/circuit breaker is on your amp power cable... All it will turn off is amp power, your head unit and anything else still has power and you should DEFINITELY have no power to the head unit if doing work on your system.
 

1991_Vn2nV

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
8,718
Reaction score
71
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Members Ride
91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
StoneX said:
Because you fuse holder/circuit breaker is on your amp power cable... All it will turn off is amp power, your head unit and anything else still has power and you should DEFINITELY have no power to the head unit if doing work on your system.

Whats the reason for this?
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
44
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
If you're plugging and unplugging the head unit loom with power to it, sometimes spikes can occur and damage the head unit. Other random problems can occur from having power to the head unit and disconnecting and connecting RCA's, looms, etc. You should always disconnect your negative battery terminal when working on anything electrical, unless it's going to cause any issues with the car's computer.
 
Top