Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Clear coat flaked and paint faded

Alexander Cummings

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Ute
Spots where clear coat is gone all around the car. And the paint has faded a little in those spots. How do I fix it? Tried to research online how to do it but every video has a different process. I’d also like to do it relatively cheap. I don’t have any clear photos of it but if you look on the right hand side of the bonnet you’ll see the clear coat spots and in the centre of the bonnet. I’m new to working on cars so don’t really have a clue, so explain in semi detail if you could. Thanks guys
IMG_3458.jpeg

bluehighway

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Calais International
Hunt around wreckers for a color match if its just the bonnet or boot. Otherwise its big bucks for a pro spray...I once rattle canned a car took about 22 cans (they were on special $4.99 a can) and took 1 day prep and another spraying used grease to block out badges door handles lights etc... (actual pics) it made the car look much tidier ... if your feeling bold... it does take some sanding / paint skill...hand sanded ...no primer just straight on with the white enamel... sides are easier to paint than top...

Attachments

• before.JPG
    before.JPG
    263.1 KB · Views: 30
  • after.JPG
    after.JPG
    221.5 KB · Views: 28
Last edited:

someguy360

Reaction score
Members Ride
Various
Nothing you can do but strip the panels and respray.

You can't even re-clear them once it's delaminated like that you have to strip the panel right back and start again with colour and clear.

No cheap fixes unfortunately. The best option is a closed door respray as if a couple of panels have started to do it the rest will soon too.

Alexander Cummings

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Ute