Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Climate Control

yZoH

//There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
101
Points
63
Location
S/E Subs, Melb
Website
www.lolwut.com
Members Ride
(0.o')
Curious if anyone has wired in there climate control by themselves an whats needed for a full conversion

Cheers
MaT

p.s- reading my gregories, sayd removal of the heater unit/box means disconnecting air con.......
 

defa

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Age
40
Members Ride
VN Commodore
yes you have to change the heater box. i really wouldn't worry about it.. if you were to get someone else to do it, it would cost you shitloads. by the time ya get a cabin loom out of a statesman or series two calais, they go for about 150 on ebay if ya see them. need heater box as you said, the little lcd screen, there is a little junction box for all the hoses..
i had a buggered cabin loom and thought i would be smart and seperate the climate control part, but it just got too confusing and ya would need a really good easy wiring loom.. depending on how much ya love car. just go and by a series 2 calais or a statesman if ya really want climate control.. it would near on work out cheaper by the time ya paid someone to do it.
mind you. someone on the forum has done it before. maybe even more than 1 person. hopefully they will tell you how much of a crap job it was..
 

markovr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
2,979
Reaction score
123
Points
63
Age
59
Location
northside brisbane
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
07vessv 94vr .04vz wgn,93vp wgn,82 vhV6 wgn 88 vn
Not impossible but probably not really worth it.
If you are really keen I can check it out and see what is needed.I know it uses 2 external sensors ...one near the radiator and one in the dash .I know from looking at a climate control heater box that the actual bare heater/ air con units without the servos are the same between the cc and the exect one.
 

yZoH

//There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
101
Points
63
Location
S/E Subs, Melb
Website
www.lolwut.com
Members Ride
(0.o')
I'll attempt it

Ambient temp sensor, "Near radiator"
Sunlight sensor, "Center of dash"
Fan fuse, "Under leaf shroud near wiper motor"
Interior sensor, "In heaterbox sump"
1/2 a loom to make a patch loom.
Heater box
Screen/controls

Cheers
MaT
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
132
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
Yep did it in 4 days on my 91 VN V8. Dash, loom, heater box out and in with the new. The clue is to get the matching loom/climate control to your model car. eg get a loom from a car with climate control made at the same time as your car.
Hardest bit was getting the heater tubes throu the fire wall.
Worth every bit of time spent
 

Full Spectrum

Bro it's a VW your Audi!
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
2,411
Reaction score
14
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
www.news.com.au
Members Ride
Berlina V6
So if you have all the bits from a climate control car there is no need to fix to parts you have just toss them out for the already done ones?. So then you wouldnt need someone to do it?.
I'd love it but still don't have A/C:p
 
Top