Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Conflicting stories VY Commodore Handbrake Adjustment

Sdel179

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
34
Reaction score
1
Points
6
Location
Newcastle Australia
Members Ride
VY Berlina V6
My handbrake on the VY is hopeless I have removed the rear discs to adjust the cog at the bottom, should it turn a full rotation ? Mine seems to only go about half a turn in either direction..the hand brake shoes have heaps of meat on them.. Some people I have noticed on here adjust the cable at the handbrake lever inside the car, some people seem dead set against the cable adjustment. Please help I'm not a fan of the gearbox holding the car on a hill..
 

lowandslow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2013
Messages
1,566
Reaction score
263
Points
83
Location
NSW
Members Ride
V2 III Monaro
Do it at the drum. Yours is probably just jammed a bit. keep at it.
 

Sdel179

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
34
Reaction score
1
Points
6
Location
Newcastle Australia
Members Ride
VY Berlina V6
It seems to just jam.. Have you adjusted yours more then half a turn before ? Cheers scott
 

lowandslow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2013
Messages
1,566
Reaction score
263
Points
83
Location
NSW
Members Ride
V2 III Monaro
Yeah. Done mine the other day. Can adjust it all the way off until it stops and adjust it tight enough that i can't get the rotor over the shoes.
 

Sdel179

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
34
Reaction score
1
Points
6
Location
Newcastle Australia
Members Ride
VY Berlina V6
Cheers. I have just seen a mod kit for the front shoe for the vt vx vy added another spring to the front top shoe you drill a 4mm hole into the shoe..I didn't notice my vy series one had another Spring or not.. Also the adjuster wheel should click ? My turns without a sound
 

lowandslow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2013
Messages
1,566
Reaction score
263
Points
83
Location
NSW
Members Ride
V2 III Monaro
I can't recall any sound.
 

Not_An_Abba_Fan

Exhaust Guru
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
13,957
Reaction score
514
Points
113
Location
Bunbury, WA
Members Ride
Strange Rover
You will have the back the cable adjustment off completely so the cable is loose. All the cable adjuster does is set the lever to the correct number of clicks. Back the cable off, then adjust the shoes, then do the cable so that the lever comes up about 5-7 clicks.

When you adjust the shoes, put a couple of wheel nuts on backwards to hold the drum tight against the hub, this will make sure the shoes sit square on the drum.

The adjuster doesn't click, there is nothing there for it to click against. Adjust it up until the drum stops moving, then give the cable a bit of a pull to centralize the shoes, and adjust it some more if you have to, then back it off a little bit until the drum turns with a small amount of drag. Then adjust the cable.
 

Surfwagon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2006
Messages
1,780
Reaction score
42
Points
48
Location
Sydney/NSW
Members Ride
AMG Mercedes C63 Wagon
I believe the clicking he is talking about is as the adjuster wheel turns it has to push past the return spring going across the bottom between the shoes.
 

Sdel179

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
34
Reaction score
1
Points
6
Location
Newcastle Australia
Members Ride
VY Berlina V6
Yes the adjuster wheel on the handbrake shoe at the bottom I'm referring to :) mine moves up or down about half a turn then seems impossible to turn any further..should the adjuster cog turn a full 360 and click as you turn them ?
 

rambunctious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
321
Points
83
Location
Mooloolaba
Members Ride
VZ Wagon
Yes the adjuster wheel on the handbrake shoe at the bottom I'm referring to :) mine moves up or down about half a turn then seems impossible to turn any further..should the adjuster cog turn a full 360 and click as you turn them ?
Yes it should.
Sounds like it is seized, so u need to strip it down, clean, and refit.
Do they have a slot for adjusting from the back of the backing plate without removing the drum.
 
Top