Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

connecting amp to ve original radio

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by t0m3kkk_ve, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. t0m3kkk_ve

    t0m3kkk_ve New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA
    hi there just wondeirng if it is possible to connect an amp to a ve orignal radio...
    seen it can be done with the vy/vz and was worndering if anyone would be able to tell me how to do it with the ve
    thanks :)
     
  2. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Yes it can. Phreddy can hook you up with an RCA mod. ASR Audio & Electronics

    Or alternatively you can use a LOC but it won't be as good as hard wiring in some RCAs.
     
  3. mi04se1

    mi04se1 need for speed

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    Members Ride:
    Pontiac G8GT
    Use a line out
     
  4. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    If youre just wanting to power a sub off the amp youre connecting up, then a LOC (line out converter) will work fine. Ive used even the cheap Jaycar ones in VEs without a drama. All you need to do is remove the underside of the parcel shelf and tap into the rear speaker wires (you can still leave the rear speakers connected), then run these wires to the LOC.....from there youve got RCA outputs to the amp. If you want a power souce to turn the amplifier on / off with the ignition you'll need to remove the drivers side of the centre console to access an unused handsfree kit plug, this has accessories power in it so just attach a wire to that and run it to the amp. The wire is in a white plug, its brown / yellow.

    If youre wanting to run full range speakers (like splits) off the amp i suggest you either get Phreddy from ASR (site sponsor) to mod your unit to have RCA outputs or spend a few hundred on a very good quality line out converter, like the Rockford 3sixty.
     
  5. Unit_01

    Unit_01 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Members Ride:
    MY9.5 VE SV6 M6
    Hi there.

    I'm trying to put my LOC in and am having trouble finding the rear speake wires that I'll be tapping into.

    I've got a MY09.5 VE SV6 so not too sure if I've got speakers in my rear parcel shelf.

    And which wire should I tap into so that the amp turns on itself when the car is on?

    Cheers.
     
  6. Lamby22

    Lamby22 Donating Member

    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    Unit 01: Not sure about your speaker question but as for what wire tap into any accessory circuit, cigarette lighter etc.. I think should work?
     
  7. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    Not sure on the speaker wires either.....arent the speakers in the rear doors?
     
  8. Unit_01

    Unit_01 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Members Ride:
    MY9.5 VE SV6 M6
    Yeah there's speaker in the rear doors...

    I can just tap into that yeah?
     
  9. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    Yep, you'll need to tap into the wiring before it goes into the door, just below the seatbelt bolt in the B pillar is a good spot, just make sure youve got the right wires though ;)
     
  10. Luke0011

    Luke0011 Car Audio Installer

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ Berlina 2005
    MMM interesting, because the phone kit plug is behind the glovebox and the accessorie wire is a brown wire, i dont think there is another under the centre console holden boy unless im wrong, but he is talking about a VE commodore..
     
  11. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    Hmm, well it might not be the phone kit plug then, but this is definitely a spare plug under the stereo on the drivers side.....not doing anything.
    Havent done a handsfree kit a VE yet, but thanks for that info.....will make it easier when im trying to figure out why none of those wires in that plug are mute, lol.
     
  12. Unit_01

    Unit_01 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Members Ride:
    MY9.5 VE SV6 M6
    Would you care to give some info on what colours I should tap into please :beer chug:
     
  13. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    Left Rear - Yellow/Red(-) Brown(+)
    Right Rear - Light Blue(-) Dark Blue(+)
     
  14. Unit_01

    Unit_01 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Members Ride:
    MY9.5 VE SV6 M6
    Thanks buddy.

    F'ing legend haha :beer chug:

    And with the remote wire, I'll tap into the accesory wire yes?

    If I don't run my remote wire yet, how does the amp turn on/off?
     
  15. Adza75

    Adza75 Active Member

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VFII SSV Redline
    The plug beside the drivers seat is *apparently* the pre-wiring for the amp in the SSV models which already have subs in the parcel shelf. Does this plug just have an accessory feed or is it an actual on/off feed from the head unit?
     
  16. Luke0011

    Luke0011 Car Audio Installer

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ Berlina 2005
    No it is definatly not pre wiring for a amplifier, it pre wiring for an ashtray, i just fitted one today.

    The mute wire in the white connector behind and to the left of the glovebox is white and the audio inputs are light blue and orange/ damm forgot th trace wire, but its next to the light blue wire.

    brown is accessory and orange/ dam forget the trace wire, its the bigger of the orange wires in that connector.
     
  17. Luke0011

    Luke0011 Car Audio Installer

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ Berlina 2005
    Yes it is an accessory feed, there is no on/off feed from the headunit. It turns on via GMLAN data bus.
     
  18. Adza75

    Adza75 Active Member

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VFII SSV Redline
    The ash tray wiring is in the centre console area... I'm talking about the one next to the drivers door... there's another thread on it I'll dig it up.
     
  19. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    Yeah that wire dosent turn on / off with the stereo, so when you turn the key off and the radio still stays on the amp will turn off......good if your running a high powered amp and sub, it means when you turn the car off you dont risk running the battery flat.
    Although, now i know where the "actual" handsfree plug is i'll be using that from now on. Thanks Luke.
     
  20. Luke0011

    Luke0011 Car Audio Installer

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ Berlina 2005
    No worries and prewiring plug does not make sense as with the woofers, the 4channell out from the headunit goes to the amp and it powers all speakers in the calais, clubsport, senetor, caprice, and so on. It cannot be a pre wiring plug because the headunit would be already connected to the speakers so it wouldnt be a simple patch loom.
     

Share This Page